Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10
294 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
9
26
86
108
47
8
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

294 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

While it's better than the 4 year old Anejo Oro, it's still not a sipping rum. It does make a better mixed drink so it's worth the upcharge. Tastes a bit more vanilla and woody and no after-burn.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Derek Harris from United States with 40 ratings

When i was at an all-inclusive at mexico, i saw they had this on the shelf. I drank three bottles of this over the next few days. It is a great rum topped with a splash of coke when you're relaxing pool side and enjoying the sun.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Tad Generic from Canada with 24 ratings

Now this one I like. This is my first from this maker, and it's a keeper. Quite enjoyable and smooth neat, and I would consider it a waste to dilute with anything else.

It came with a small sample of the 12yo, which I'm eager to compare it to, but this one is on the buy again list

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 18 ratings

Pour un rhum de tous les jours, le flor de cana 7 ans ne décevra pas.
Définitivement pas un rhum avec une forte personnalité, il offre néanmoins un bel équilibre, qui saura rendre vos fins d’après-midi bien relaxantes !

Small dreamstime xxl 13822080

Posted 3 months ago by Evadovec (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 50 ratings

I can't rate higher number than 6. I just can't imagine sipping this rum. Good for drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Sjaak from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Good rum, nice taste, good colour and smooth. Would buy again

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by DMG from United States with 11 ratings

This is designed for mixing. You can enjoy this neat but it's fairly mild. I would not let it sit around or breathe, it will open too much and you will lose a lot of distinction for the aromas. It will morph into a hard to discern sweetness with a bit of caramel. Spend 10 minutes with a glass, not half an hour or more IMO.

Comparatively, I like the El Dorado 8 Year a bit more than this. Similar price / age between the two. Common trend between the two brands seems to be ED will have more flavor, but will be less smooth than FDC. At least my opinion so far between the 7/8, 12, and 15/18 matchups this has held true. Smoothness is preferred for a lot of mixing, but neat I don't mind giving up some smoothness for the extra flavor if it's noticeable.

Small  d98zz5

Posted 4 months ago by rv from Belgium with 5 ratings

I like a rum with a smoky and warm finish. Good to drink neat on a drizzly day. My first rum from this company and certainly worth appreciating.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by fredmullerpix from Guatemala with 3 ratings

Second as the perfect balance quality/money !
Perfect for "Nica Libre" ;)

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Sheldon from Canada with 3 ratings

This is a smooth run and mixes well. It stays on the counter for whenever u need a rum

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Koldegaard from Denmark with 6 ratings

Good everyday rum, not to expensive to mix up, and still ok to sip.