Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10
292 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
8
26
85
108
46
9
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

292 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

While it's better than the 4 year old Anejo Oro, it's still not a sipping rum. It does make a better mixed drink so it's worth the upcharge. Tastes a bit more vanilla and woody and no after-burn.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

I like this rum, not real smooth but nice robust flavor and makes a good Rum and Coke. Decent drinking compared to the 18 year which i was a bit disjointed with.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Natural tasting rum with a grassy Agricole-like base flavor and some mild aged flavors like vanilla and oak over the top. I do mean mild when I say mild. This has a little more bite than the 12 yr and maybe a little more flavor as well but it's still a light simple tasting rum without much sweetness or any particular flavor popping out at you. I can say that it tastes like rum and not a bourbon or sweet wine finish. Ok to sip and excellent mixer.Update: i had some again recently and the flavor is kind of blah to me at thia point, i taste predominantly charcoal and a bit of sweetness. Im now calling this the vodka of rums cuz thats what it tastes like.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

Having first familiarized myself with Havana Club 7, I assumed FdC 7 would be similar (direct competitors, even). Tasting this one, and then both side by side, I was surprised to find that they are remarkably different! While the HC is rich, oaky, and smokey, this FdC is rather lighter-bodied... off-sweet, with notes of vanilla and caramel. To me, the Flor de Caña is like a dryer version of the candy-like Plantation Barbados 5! (Which can only be a good thing.) However, it also has some off-putting high-notes at first pour.

So, although I'm a little disappointed not to have found a HC doppelgänger state-side, and am no longer sure quite what flavor profile to look for when a classic recipe calls for Spanish-style/Puerto Rican rum, I'm satisfied with my purchase and enjoying mixing with it very much.

Kudos for FdC for not adulterating their rums with gobs of sugar! I may decide to use this as my go-to Gold/Spanish-style column-distilled aged rum, with Mt. Gay Eclipse (which is blended) as a budget back-up.

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted 5 years ago by Lawson from United States with 69 ratings

Very appealing 's a sipper. Mixes very well and is a good rum to have in the cabinet. It's quality belies the price point it is at.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

On the rocks this is a winner, without ice its a bit rough.
Very good as a drink mixer!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

I hate this rum because anytime I open a bottle it just gone! Magic.

This my favorite rum and my friends have the same oppinion, it is good sipping and just exploited with mixing; cubata, floridita, punch, maitai all of them are special with this single state rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Very similar to the 12yo, but with a comparatively needed lack of smoothness. A steal of a price too.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. This is a very good rum for mixed drinks. I tried this several times which means I drank several bottles of this for mixed drinks. It's good value for the money and as a Gold Rum it is my go to for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

Decent rum for the price. its a good mixer although it could def use some improvement, to smooth out the alcohol taste. its a good everyday rum and better than most others for the price. Dont know if I want to keep buying this one might switch to Appleton V/X

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 42 ratings

Very smooth and deep taste for a very reasonable price, one of the finest aged rums to date for me!