Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gold 4 rum

Rate Flor de Caña Gold 4

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


47 Flor de Caña Gold 4 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

I have never purchased this rum but come across it often at gatherings. From my experience, it is purchased as an upgrade from Bacardi gold (which it is, but not by much). Harsh but with some presence of flavor and relatively inexpensive. Give it a shot at that next house warming you go to but look elsewhere for getting warm in your own house.

Posted about 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Not bad considering the price. I believe I paid $21 for a 750ml. Best mixed not on the rocks or neat.

Posted about 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Makes quite a nice rum and coke.
Rum tastes mellow and butterish, which works well when you just want to chill and enjoy your drink without noticing the rum too much.

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Clasico de 4 anos solo pasable con cuba libre. Precio muy comodo.

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

Every rum drinker needs to have a good mixer in their cabinet for the inevitable guest who insists on putting a mixer into anything that they drink.
Flor de Cana Gold fills that spot, being a reasonable price and having a strong enough flavour to come through over the mixer.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I had this one while in Mexico. It was great when I mixed it with pineapple juice, but that was the only thing I would mix it with. Hints of oak and spice would come through, but some sweet would also join. Keep as a mixing rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marcelo da Fonseca from Mexico with 11 ratings

Good value for your money.
A little sweeter than other rums, but it goes down nicely alone or mixed with cola.

Posted over 2 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Ok for mixing. I can’t drink it as a sipping rum. Starts off okay enough with some flavor but then falls off, and too much burn. The further aged Flor de Cana is much better for sipping.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Excelente ron para mezclar .. ron con coca una excelente opción, grata sorpresa. Ron un poco dulce y con poco sabor a madera comparado con el resto de los rones de flor de caña.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

My rum tasting began 15 years ago with Flor de Cana 4, 5 and 7 year old bottles purchased from a gas station while road tripping in Central America. Great memories, but the fact is that these are not neat sipping rums. They will however make a very good rum-and-coke, and especially if enjoyed in its natural habitat.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

It is a nice, inexpensive rum that provides a decent taste in mixed drinks and ok as a sipper. Ideally, you have to jump up to the 7 year old to enjoy drinking this rum neat. Amber in color as it begins to take in more of what the barrel has to offer. The right amount of flavor and heat to provide a good mixed drink.

Posted about 3 years ago by Joel from United States with 4 ratings

I passed up Bacardi's clear mango at the same price, and was a bit seduced by this rum's fashionable dress: color, bottle, name, all lovely. One sniff told me to mix it: rum and a soda. Palatable, reasonably smooth. I drink an ounce neat, but no finish worth mentioning, at the price of $21 a reliable, steady rum for mixing and, as noted on this site, good to bring to a house warming...but not yours.

Posted about 3 years ago by Neil J BERRY from Australia with 4 ratings

Delicate nose of vanilla and butterscotch. Light on the oak. Butterscotch and coconut on the palate with a little molasses. Impressive for a 4 year old and pleasant as a sipper but predominantly as a mixer rum. Definitely not disappointed for the price.

Posted about 3 years ago by Frank van Rossum from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Een lekker rum voor te mixen met cola. Niet te zoet en een licht scherpe nasmaak. Dus voor herhaling

Posted over 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Tento rum mi opravdu nechutná. Těžko hodnotitelný rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

This is really good for the price. It's a mixer that can pass for a sipper when on the rocks. The water smooths it out nicely. Clumsy when drinking neat

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

Very palatable a mixed coke. Very fragrant and can imagine V
Being very nice on it its own. Based on price and bought as a single. It's pleasant but not up there.

Posted over 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Velmi ostrý rum, víc se o něm asi říct nedá. V tomhle stáří samozřejmě nelze čekat ušlechtilou vůni nebo jemnou chuť, ale znám podobně staré, mnohem pitelnější kousky. Tohle jsem musel dopít s colou.

Posted over 3 years ago by Justin from United States with 15 ratings

That's all you're going to do with this one. This is not for sipping.

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

This rum has a specific taste signature which is somewhat unique to the Flor de Cana: Very smooth and balanced, you could use this as a daily sipper and be perfectly happy. I have tasted the 4 the 7 and the 12 yo. Flor de Canas. I think the 7 is the one I liked the most, but the 4 is still great.

Posted over 3 years ago by Menno (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 49 ratings

Your average rum for a mix. Taste is not too strong

Posted over 3 years ago by Dennis from United States with 3 ratings

Best mixed with tropical juices and cream of coconut

Posted over 3 years ago by Steve from United States with 1 rating

I haven't consumed rum in years. But a friend offered me a shot of this one the other night. I found it much nicer than I expected. There was some vanilla and buttery smoothness.
Got me hooked and now exploring rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chrispperson from United States with 4 ratings

My go to well. Smooth and easy. Cheap enough. Nice bottle