Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gold 4 rum

Flor de Caña Gold 4

Nicaragua | Gold

6.0/10 (47 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
21
11
3

Rate Flor de Caña Gold 4

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


47 Flor de Caña Gold 4 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Neil J BERRY from Australia with 5 ratings

Delicate nose of vanilla and butterscotch. Light on the oak. Butterscotch and coconut on the palate with a little molasses. Impressive for a 4 year old and pleasant as a sipper but predominantly as a mixer rum. Definitely not disappointed for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

I have never purchased this rum but come across it often at gatherings. From my experience, it is purchased as an upgrade from Bacardi gold (which it is, but not by much). Harsh but with some presence of flavor and relatively inexpensive. Give it a shot at that next house warming you go to but look elsewhere for getting warm in your own house.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Not bad considering the price. I believe I paid $21 for a 750ml. Best mixed not on the rocks or neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Makes quite a nice rum and coke.
Rum tastes mellow and butterish, which works well when you just want to chill and enjoy your drink without noticing the rum too much.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Clasico de 4 anos solo pasable con cuba libre. Precio muy comodo.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

Every rum drinker needs to have a good mixer in their cabinet for the inevitable guest who insists on putting a mixer into anything that they drink.
Flor de Cana Gold fills that spot, being a reasonable price and having a strong enough flavour to come through over the mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 71 ratings

I had this one while in Mexico. It was great when I mixed it with pineapple juice, but that was the only thing I would mix it with. Hints of oak and spice would come through, but some sweet would also join. Keep as a mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marcelo da Fonseca from Mexico with 11 ratings

Good value for your money.
A little sweeter than other rums, but it goes down nicely alone or mixed with cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Ok for mixing. I can’t drink it as a sipping rum. Starts off okay enough with some flavor but then falls off, and too much burn. The further aged Flor de Cana is much better for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Excelente ron para mezclar .. ron con coca una excelente opción, grata sorpresa. Ron un poco dulce y con poco sabor a madera comparado con el resto de los rones de flor de caña.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

My rum tasting began 15 years ago with Flor de Cana 4, 5 and 7 year old bottles purchased from a gas station while road tripping in Central America. Great memories, but the fact is that these are not neat sipping rums. They will however make a very good rum-and-coke, and especially if enjoyed in its natural habitat.