Posting your rating...
Wild Tiger Special Reserve rum

Wild Tiger Special Reserve rum is produced in India using a blend of molasses and cane juice distillates, before aging in American oakwood casks which once stored Bourbon Whiskey. 10% of Wild Tiger's profits are donated to the Wild Tiger Foundation to protect Tigers around the world.

Rate Wild Tiger Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


44 Wild Tiger Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

I Just love tigers! - So what not to love when you can buy Wild Tiger Rum, and then support those fantastic loveable animals?

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I love the packaging and the cause. Lovely with lemonade and a lime

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Wild Tiger with my buddies while vacationing in Germany. Velvet covered bottle, very fancy. Harsh alcohol smell to the nose and palate. Nothing but vanilla extract on the flavor profile. Mix it, and down it goes, but just barely.

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

The board says that this is a Panamanian rum, when it is an Indian rum

I love the bottle and the fact that some money supposedly goes to tiger preservation.

It is cheap. In the UK about the same price as a Mount Gay Eclipse, or perhaps 5-10% more. The nose reveals what is wrong with this. Sweetness. I am presuming that it has added sugar as it is far too sweet. Having said that, it really is quite easy to drink, which after all is the most important thing. If you are in the mood for a more alcoholic and less sickly version of Baileys, then this hits the spot. I'm just not sure how often I am in that mood.

Overall, I've had far worse rums at higher prices than this. I would give this a 5½.

Posted 5 months ago by Frog from Belgium with 1 rating

Definitely not a rum for sipping, still correct enough to mix it in a cocktail

Posted 5 months ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

Color: dark amber. Texture: rather liquidity. Taste: light, mostly wood with hint of vanilla. Not a bad rum, but one definitely as tasty as good rums.

Posted 6 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

Vanila and caramel with quite strong alcohol flavour. Nothing special to be honest. Not to buy again. Defenitely not a premium level. Disappointment.

Posted 6 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

It is like very mediocre whisky mixed with additives to give off that sweet bakery smells.

Posted 9 months ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Produced in the Indian state of Kerala. Aged in American-oak bourbon casks, it's an aromatic rum with notes of primarily vanilla and caramel on your palette, with butterscotch and earthy notes thanks to the sugarcane. While traditional Indian rum is usually 100% molasses, Wild Tiger predominantly retains the same base (derived from multi-column stills production) but is also blended with some percentage of cane-juice spirit (derived from double distillation in pot stills). Dark red mahogany colour but that is the only impressive characteristic. It does mix well with Coke, if you like Vanilla Coke

Posted 10 months ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

The initial flavour hit isn’t great, strong sour and with grassy hints. Only a little spice. It gets better after a few seconds with a maple syrup tinge, but the long finish doesn’t linger well. Maybe a few added ingredients make it interesting, but certainly not on my top shelf. Does mix well with coke which brings some vanilla out.

Posted about 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

kenne diesen rum aus dem adventskalender 1423. einfach nur schrecklich! riecht spritig! i will never try again

Posted over 1 year ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

There's a lot going on with many fruity flavours it's a good but not a special rum

Posted over 1 year ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

20ml uit een advent kalender. Te weinig om echt in te duiken.. hout, rokerig maar wat zoetig.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Nice vanila aroma. Taste is not so good - strong ethanol. Aftertaste missing.

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Smell not bad, fruity, vanilla, taste with more alcohol flavour. Mid range & and love to support tigers.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Not a premium rum by any means, you buy this for the packaging and for the noble cause behind it.

Which is exactly what I did, and it revealed itself to be a decent mixer for a lazy night. Very sweet and not very complex with strong banana and even stronger vanilla hits. A basic rum that is not great by any means but is not horrible by any either.

Posted over 1 year ago by Frederik from Denmark with 1 rating

Great Packaging and noble cause. Very few Tigers in the world remaining. The Rum itself it unique because of Molasses and Agricole blend. Lot of nice Vanilla and Toffee notes.

Little bit zesty and over all a decent pour for the price.
Now I may try the spicy one.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

This is the first Indian rum that I have tried. I was surprised to learn that they produce more rum than any other country in the world, but here the quality do not match the quantity.

Nose: Roasted wood, cocoa and vanilla.
Taste: Very, very sweet with notes of fruits and vanilla. I can´t describe the aftertaste, but it is not good.
Overall: First serious attempt from India in the world of premium rums....better luck next time.

Posted about 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Smell of cinnamon is really strong, but after first burn there is nothing left at all. 5 seconds and its gone.

Posted about 2 years ago by Alex from Italy with 32 ratings

Sehr dunkle Farbe im Glas
Nase nicht schlecht
Geschmack sehr Künstlich wie Kaugummi

Posted about 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Dufter godt, men smager ikke af så meget, og derfor er den lidt kedelig. Det er ikke fordi den ikke kan drikkes rent, men den gør sig nok bedre i en Dark'n'Stormy.

Posted over 2 years ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Very sweet fruity rum with banana and vanilia flavour and taste, long lasting, like syrup

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr dunkles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase überraschend vielschichtig für einen Rum im Plüsch. Ein Sahnebonbon im Fruchtsalat, extrem süss mit eleganten Holznoten.
Im Gaumen eher grüne Bohnen mit Curry als Rum, sehr speziell. Zwischendurch flackert ein wenig Karamell und Holz auf. Jetzt hab ich Lust auf eine Portion Curry-Reis.
Im Abgang ein Wenig künstlich Fruchtig Kaugummiartig.
Zugunsten der Tiger, für alle Rum- und Tigerfreunde.

Very dark amber in the glass.
In the nose surprisingly multi-layered for a rum in the plush. A creamy sweet in fruit salad, extremely sweet with elegant woody notes.
On the palate more green beans with curry than rum, very special. In between flickers a little caramel and wood. I want a serving of curry rice.
In the finish a little artificially fruity gum.
In favor of the Tiger, for all Rum and Tiger friends.

Posted over 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

#12 i romkalendern 2017, betyget sammanfattar intrycket.