Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year rum

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


65 Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Kupoval jsem pro přítelkyni čistě kvůli labelu (a literární reminiscenci na něj) a čekal něco jako trochu lepší Havana Club Anejo Especial (tedy nic moc). Překvapivě to ale nebylo špatné ani simplexní. Na hypermarketový rum této cenové kategorie (platil jsem pod 600 Kč za litrovku - "product of Bahamas") dokonce velmi uspokojivé.
Přišlo mi to jako "light" verze Presidente 15-Year, který mě nijak nenadchnul, zatímco takto zjemněná podoba mi přišla výrazně snesitelnějsí, jak chuťově, tak čichově.
Na druhé straně pokud je pravdivý reklamní blábol "původně určen pouze pro členy rodiny Bacardi a jejich nejbližší přátele", musela to být poměrně nevybíravá famílie. Nicméně běžného konzumenta tohle pití určitě neurazí, ač samozřejmě asi ani neuchvátí. Láhev s četnými lisovanými ochrannými prvky a dřevěným špuntem s natištěným netopýrem rovněž nepůsobí nijak lacině.
Úhrnem - i "major" značka se někdy utne a vyrobí něco poživatelného. Ale Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve mi za stejné (respektive levnější) peníze pořád přijde mnohem lepší.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

I think the "bat device" took a massive guano in this barrel.... every year for 8 years. Serious gut rot. Serious water trots.

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

What a mistake this one was! I thought possibly Bacardi could make a good product if it was aged long enough... Wrong! this still taste like low tier shitty old standard bacardi gold! Don't waste your money on this.. Hangover waiting to happen, and adds nothing to a mix drinks flavor profile other than nastiness.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

I’ve had worst Bacardi rum. I was expecting more from this one. Still not a very good rum. I come to the conclusion that Bacardi rums are not for me.

Posted over 1 year ago by SkinnyRumPilot from Hungary with 5 ratings

- Please take my review as a particular issue, I do not want to generalize. - I've bought this bottle of Bacardi with very high hopes, but I had to face my biggest disappointment in rums so far. The price is average for an 8 year old rum, maybe even a little less. The bottle looks especially appealing, classy, creates the impression of quality in the buyer. But let's check what's in it. After opening, I have to say, I encountered with the strangest smell of rum ever. It smelled totally like plastic, mixed with a bit of alcohol. Similar to when you buy new shoes with that stinky rubber sole... I tried to taste it, but this chemical scent was unfortunately present in the flavor as well. After taking another look at the bottle that's when I realized what has happened. It has a plastic corking - and the bottle I assume must have been stored somewhere for ages - and this plastic got interacted with the alcohol somehow, and started to release the penetrating chemical smell. Tasting was over. I've poured the rum into a clean scentless glass bottle and leave it for a while, just to give it another chance. Two weeks later, the smell improved a bit but the taste is still awful. So I decided to contact Bacardi about this, I'll try to update my review after receiving their reply. I wonder if this issue with the 'cork' affects all their product range, and whether some fellow rum fans had the same issue.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 2 ratings

So, take this with a lot of salt, as this is my first rum review.
I gotta say, having drank Bacardi all my life (with coke) this was a major disappointment. I tried this neat, to experience all the flavors, and couldn’t discern anything good. There was just bitterness. I couldn’t finish the shot, dumped a bit of coke in it, and still tasted paint thinner. I preceded it with another rum neat, so I know I can enjoy rum, just this isn’t one to do it with.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ron (Rum) from Canada with 4 ratings

Well now, I expected a bit more from an 8 year rum particularly when the 12 - year Eldorado was priced a good 8 dollars less and was a much fuller, smoother taste. Not my favorite by any means. Is this a blended rum?

Posted about 2 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Although Bacardi gets a bad press, I find this rum easily drinkable neat or with coke and slice of lime.

Posted 2 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Has increased in price, but it is a good entry into something better. Bit of a burn that is tolerable. You get wood, fruit and some vanilla aroma with similar taste. Worth trying, but not a go to option.

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Con mucho caracter, pega fuerte, y se diluye en ciruela, albaricoques y nuez moscada. Termina con reminiscencia a avellana, pistacho...

Posted 8 months ago by Laufke (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 6 ratings

As my first ever bought rum I did not really know what to expect, I thought it was good but not more than that

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

In the last 5 years in Canada I have noticed the "Bacardi 8" has had its label changed 3 times. The label shown above was on the bottle in Ontario circa 2013. It was a nice oaky rum, the first from Bacardi that I could enjoy straight.

I have found the latest label/version circa 2019 not quite as smooth, but still drinkable. A good inexpensive standard to have on hand for mixing or sipping.

Posted 8 months ago by Kekso from Slovakia with 28 ratings

you can definitely have better runs for this price

Posted 9 months ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

Neat: Definite age but nothing terribly subtle or compelling about it. Maybe a little harsh, but not gross. No real value here.

In tiki drinks: I used this when I was getting my feet wet with tiki and I thought it produced acceptable results. No layers of flavor were piercing through the syrups and citrus like with some nicer rums, but it made the drink taste about how it was supposed to. I wouldn't discount it if it's the only rum of its kind available to you.

Posted 10 months ago by Patrick D from Sweden with 13 ratings

The nose is fresh and perfumed with notes of oak and peels, a little syrup with a fennel note. The palate is sweet and rich with tropical fruits, peels and winter spice. The finish is gentle and luscious.

Posted 10 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Expected more. Receive nothing. Lost my time and an opportunity to taste something else that night...

Posted 11 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

Like most others here, the smell does not do it good,...a scent of cheap plastic is definitely noticeable. The taste is ok,...not more...a bit softer than the smell indicates. Yet nothing to remember.

The price was fortunately not too much and so not a total waste of money...maybe a useful mixer.

Will not buy it again,...solid 5.

Posted 12 months ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...und ihm eine Chance gegeben. Naja was soll ich sagen? Nicht umwerfend und nicht wirklich schlecht. Im Gegensatz zu seinen jüngeren Brüdern, welche super als Fensterreiniger ihre Dienste verbringen könnten, kann man diesen Tropfen wirklich trinken. Doch bitte versprecht euch davon keine Erleuchtung, denn der letzte Schliff fehlt ihm noch.

Posted 12 months ago by Kriz from Malta with 4 ratings

Thought this was like their other 8 year old one. What a mistake that was. It has the same name and a fancier bottle, however the contents is far from the same. What the hell Bacardi get your act together

Posted about 1 year ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

This is not a smooth rum, I found it harsh and although we drank it, I can’t say I loved it.

Posted about 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

Den funkar bra i rom och cola och romtryffel eller annan bakning/ godistillverkning.

Posted about 1 year ago by Dave Talkington from United States with 4 ratings

Doesn’t mix well with Cola, but decent neat, or on the rocks.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mark Halse from Australia with 13 ratings

Not as nice as some of Bacardi's other more expensive Rums but we'll worth a go.

Posted about 1 year ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 22 ratings

Not too complicated, mixed well with several things. Pleasant

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirateforlife from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

I remember the Ocho being taste and round in mouth. But I also remember being a bit advanced in my spirit taste by then..if you know what I mean