Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year rum

Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

6.0/10 (67 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
3
8
19
23
5
1

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


67 Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Tried the Bacardi 8 Gran Reserva rum at the Bacardi distillery in San Juan last year and it's just ok with a strong burn at the end and the traditional mish-mash flavor profile and very close to the Bacardi 8 year old.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

I think the "bat device" took a massive guano in this barrel.... every year for 8 years. Serious gut rot. Serious water trots.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

What a mistake this one was! I thought possibly Bacardi could make a good product if it was aged long enough... Wrong! this still taste like low tier shitty old standard bacardi gold! Don't waste your money on this.. Hangover waiting to happen, and adds nothing to a mix drinks flavor profile other than nastiness.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

I’ve had worst Bacardi rum. I was expecting more from this one. Still not a very good rum. I come to the conclusion that Bacardi rums are not for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SkinnyRumPilot from Hungary with 5 ratings

- Please take my review as a particular issue, I do not want to generalize. - I've bought this bottle of Bacardi with very high hopes, but I had to face my biggest disappointment in rums so far. The price is average for an 8 year old rum, maybe even a little less. The bottle looks especially appealing, classy, creates the impression of quality in the buyer. But let's check what's in it. After opening, I have to say, I encountered with the strangest smell of rum ever. It smelled totally like plastic, mixed with a bit of alcohol. Similar to when you buy new shoes with that stinky rubber sole... I tried to taste it, but this chemical scent was unfortunately present in the flavor as well. After taking another look at the bottle that's when I realized what has happened. It has a plastic corking - and the bottle I assume must have been stored somewhere for ages - and this plastic got interacted with the alcohol somehow, and started to release the penetrating chemical smell. Tasting was over. I've poured the rum into a clean scentless glass bottle and leave it for a while, just to give it another chance. Two weeks later, the smell improved a bit but the taste is still awful. So I decided to contact Bacardi about this, I'll try to update my review after receiving their reply. I wonder if this issue with the 'cork' affects all their product range, and whether some fellow rum fans had the same issue.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 2 ratings

So, take this with a lot of salt, as this is my first rum review.
I gotta say, having drank Bacardi all my life (with coke) this was a major disappointment. I tried this neat, to experience all the flavors, and couldn’t discern anything good. There was just bitterness. I couldn’t finish the shot, dumped a bit of coke in it, and still tasted paint thinner. I preceded it with another rum neat, so I know I can enjoy rum, just this isn’t one to do it with.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ron (Rum) from Canada with 4 ratings

Well now, I expected a bit more from an 8 year rum particularly when the 12 - year Eldorado was priced a good 8 dollars less and was a much fuller, smoother taste. Not my favorite by any means. Is this a blended rum?

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Ronroneo from Mexico with 6 ratings

Very good taste, I always have preferred to mix rum with coke, what i like of this is than is not such a waste to be mixed but you can drink alone and is fairy good.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 31 ratings

Had it at Bacardi in PR, not bad but no 100% enjoyable either

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Although Bacardi gets a bad press, I find this rum easily drinkable neat or with coke and slice of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Has increased in price, but it is a good entry into something better. Bit of a burn that is tolerable. You get wood, fruit and some vanilla aroma with similar taste. Worth trying, but not a go to option.