Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year rum

Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

6.0/10 (68 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
3
8
19
24
5
1

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


68 Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 66 ratings

I resent the trash that is Bacardi, that said this is closer to tolerable then most of their bilge

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Although Bacardi gets a bad press, I find this rum easily drinkable neat or with coke and slice of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Has increased in price, but it is a good entry into something better. Bit of a burn that is tolerable. You get wood, fruit and some vanilla aroma with similar taste. Worth trying, but not a go to option.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Con mucho caracter, pega fuerte, y se diluye en ciruela, albaricoques y nuez moscada. Termina con reminiscencia a avellana, pistacho...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Laufke from Sweden with 6 ratings

As my first ever bought rum I did not really know what to expect, I thought it was good but not more than that

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

In the last 5 years in Canada I have noticed the "Bacardi 8" has had its label changed 3 times. The label shown above was on the bottle in Ontario circa 2013. It was a nice oaky rum, the first from Bacardi that I could enjoy straight.

I have found the latest label/version circa 2019 not quite as smooth, but still drinkable. A good inexpensive standard to have on hand for mixing or sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kekso from Slovakia with 28 ratings

you can definitely have better runs for this price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

Neat: Definite age but nothing terribly subtle or compelling about it. Maybe a little harsh, but not gross. No real value here.

In tiki drinks: I used this when I was getting my feet wet with tiki and I thought it produced acceptable results. No layers of flavor were piercing through the syrups and citrus like with some nicer rums, but it made the drink taste about how it was supposed to. I wouldn't discount it if it's the only rum of its kind available to you.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Patrick D from Sweden with 14 ratings

The nose is fresh and perfumed with notes of oak and peels, a little syrup with a fennel note. The palate is sweet and rich with tropical fruits, peels and winter spice. The finish is gentle and luscious.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Expected more. Receive nothing. Lost my time and an opportunity to taste something else that night...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 86 ratings

Like most others here, the smell does not do it good,...a scent of cheap plastic is definitely noticeable. The taste is ok,...not more...a bit softer than the smell indicates. Yet nothing to remember.

The price was fortunately not too much and so not a total waste of money...maybe a useful mixer.

Will not buy it again,...solid 5.