Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Extra Dry 4 rum

Rate Flor de Caña Extra Dry 4

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


60 Flor de Caña Extra Dry 4 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Flor De Cana doesn't really strike my fancy, they are drier rums that even with age are still harsh so I don't prefer them. I bought this bottle just because I figured it couldn't be a bad white rum, white's usually run harsh and drier so this was right up Flor De Cana's lane. I didn't give this a really fair test I figured it was gonna be like drinking the sun so I skipped out on the glacrain glass and opted for a 1 hit in the tumbler glass. Popping the top off it's a really good aroma for a white, vanilla oak (usual's) and it has a agricole kind of body. In the glass it is much the same with (surprisingly) no strong alcohol fumes, okay? weird. Drinking it straight I half expected Satan to spit in my mouth BUT WAIT A SECOND, it's actually really good, in fact really good straight. No harsh upfront burn or even afterburn, pleasant oak and vanilla with a unique tasting sugar cane, mildly dry with some spice that is very balanced. Honestly I am dumbfounded at how good of a white rum this is for it's price. I've paid much more for something of this quality. I think a lot of people are interpreting the price to be a factor of it's quality and rating it such. The Rum and Coke it makes is very similar to an aged rum and coke (15 year old rums). It has that same type of mellow rum character along with a dry fart of the cask that a lot of aged rums make. Definitely a must have staple for those that seek not only quality but bargain hunters as well. Why not a 9 or a 10? Well it's really not that complex, an 8 rum is a solid rum that can be enjoyed as a sipper but they are ultimately the B+ students, smart but still nothing standoutish. 9's and 10's do something very unique, they have a personality, they are bold, deep, rich and enticing. This doesn't have that appeal to it that those offer however it is still a fantastic choice.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

As others might point out, this style of rum is particularly suited for mixing with fruit and citrus. I use it, along with its brothers and sisters, for fruit macerations to make Rhum Arrange. Always very pleased with the results, and often preferring this style of rum over others when mixing with fruits.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

This is my go to for mojitos and blender drinks. Great value, easy to find. Nothing stands out in this rum, which is good. Provides a nice neutral rum base to mixed drinks.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

This solid mixing rum stands some steps above most light rums you see at the grocery/liquor store. Simple, clean. Sure, you can do better for special occasions, but at $10-15 per bottle, this flor is a no-brainer!

Update 5/18: Well, my source for this bottle jacked up the price, so now I can put my rating where it really ought to be. And considering the labor conditions associated with this brand, this bottle is best avoided.

6, 6+

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason Morrell from United States with 5 ratings

I got this to use for mixing in Tiki drinks and it is the best for this role. Great price, perfect flavor, mixes perfect with fruit, so much better then any other white rum in this price range.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off, the bottle I have reads "Flor de Caña Extra Seco" so it's the same thing, right? Anyway, this is a rum best suited as a mixer. A bit too rough for sipping IMHO but still has some nice flavors and not much sweet. Has distinct sugar cane flavor right off the bat but then that bat hits you in the throat...hard. Can catch the novice off-guard quite easily. However that sugar cane molasses flavor lends itself greatly in a number of mixed drinks especially fruit-based drinks IMHO. A few ounces of this with some good orange juice is a must. Very versatile in this respect. Good to have onhand for mixers.

Posted 25 days ago by Bob from United States with 8 ratings

Great rum for making mixed drinks. Awsome cost to quality ratio.

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Too strong to sip but will do good on a mojito or a daiquiri...

Posted 6 months ago by farsiderum from United States with 6 ratings

Oddly sweet for an extra dry, but has a nice clean taste reminicent of fresh sugar cane.

Posted about 1 year ago by Pluto from United States with 9 ratings

I love using this rum for cocktails. It tastes the way a white rum should, but nothing really stands out to make this a top choice. Overall its worth the money and worth a try.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

Great rum, nice and smooth. Delicate fragrance, sweet sugar cane and lightly spicy. Smooth light flavor of molasses, warming and not at all hot. Bought solely as the rum for a traditional daiquiri and it blended wonderfully with the simple syrup, lime and bitters. An excellent rum for cocktails/tiki drinks and at under $20 a fantastic value.
The aroma and flavor in the classic daiquiri was so smooth and flavorful I decided to pour neat into a snifter and what a surprise! Who would think of a white rum at this price being great neat. Smooth and warming but no bite. Light body and soft delicate finish. Great over a cube of ice!
If nothing else buy this for a mojito, daiquiri or mai tai but give it a try on the rocks or neat for a change and enjoy the pure rum flavor!

Posted about 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

It taste good yo dip or yo prepare cocktails. It have good taste and good kick as well. Very cheap for the quality.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alejo from Argentina with 29 ratings

Good spirit for daiquiris and mojitos, really cheap

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 47 ratings

Tried this is a sample sipper and it was pleasant enough. I can definitely see it being even better as a mixer though since it has enough of a distinct flavor to stand on its own.

Posted over 1 year ago by HercuePoirot from United States with 4 ratings

The go-to "well" white rum for the home bar. Enough flavor to mix with, drinkable neat in a pinch. Very affordable and better than most at this price. Perfect for that hefty pour to make your night a little Tiki.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I compared this white rum side by side neat against my top ranked white rum that is easily available. Of course, this one had no contest against Selvarey White, but it is still way better than anything from Bacardi or Captain Morgan. It also has a bit more taste than Don Q Cristal, which has the ultimate penalty free drunk. Being that this one is extra dry, don't expect a hang over the next day. It is a good value mixer and that is all. However, don't even think of mixing it with grapefruit juice, since this is the mixture from hell.

Posted over 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Great value and my go to for mojitos, or just with lime and lots of ice in the summer. A good alternative to the bigger brands. Not much to say about it as it lack body and complexity. A good clear spirit though.

Posted over 1 year ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Not much of a nose. White rum. As sipper, thou I wouldn’t think it’s intended for that has definite alcohol to tongue. Definitely better with coke or as mixer. Helps cover flaws but not much more than adding alcohol to another drink

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jonathan from United States with 4 ratings

Go to daily rum, lends itself well to a variety of cocktails, favorite for its price, and better than many that are priced higher.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

This white is nice, a good cocktail base spirit clean and crisp with underlying coconut flavours. I find it comparable to the el dorado 3 year old expression. I find it much more palatable than the flor de cana 5 year old gold rum also, and at £23 on Amazon it's a steal. Perfect if your a fan of whites, equally perfect if your a fan of daiquiris and mai tais. But not a sipper by a long stretch. I'm yet to find a white I can sip and keep on sipping.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

This white rum is a little spicy, and has the dryest flavour profile, it also has the most flavour it doesn’t really burn but has a peppery finish. It doesn’t work in all cocktails but perhaps I wasn’t ready for all that flavour?

Posted almost 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

Один из лучших светлых ромов. Запоминающийся. Мягкий на вкус и даже в аромате. Опьянение без дури и потери сил. Я не любитель ванили, иначе дал бы 8/10.

Posted about 2 years ago by Gary Robinson from United States with 1 rating

I think this blows Bacardi out of the water for use in classic rum cocktails calling for white or Blanco rums.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

This is my go-to blanco. It is just complex enough to be interesting but also not too much so to be a turnoff. Grassy notes....makes a great daiquiri or Cuba libre