Posting your rating...
J. Wray Gold rum

J. Wray Gold

Jamaica | Gold

5.2/10 (21 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
9
3
5

Rate J. Wray Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 J. Wray Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Nothing of great interest here. Useful for the party well when making inexpensive drinks. Only the slightest hint of funk and pretty neutral. Nothing offensive so not a bad choice for making non rummies a tropical drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

At $15 I doubt this is for sipping but let's give it a go...

Nose:
Very nice little funkiness going on. Very mellow on the nose, you really have to inhale deeply to get even a burn. Tropical fruits, honey, mango nectar, cooked banana is really strong.
Palate:
Surprisingly bland as it hits the tongue but develops as it goes down. The funkiness comes through really nicely. I would almost describe it as tangy.

Overall, this is a great cheap bottle to mix with or to sip on if thats your style. Very good example of a funky Jamaican rum with not too many frills. Very nice value for the price range.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tim from Canada with 59 ratings

Decent enough as a Jamaican mixer, but lord have mercy bumboclaat, there is so much better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

No idea why Appleton Special renamed to this. Standard Jamaica rum, got that funk and probably not a sipper. Still an authentic Jamaica rum. Ya mon

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

I had low expectations due to some of the reviews on this site and the low cost of this rum, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It's not a bad sipper - not great - but not bad. It adds a nice layer to cocktails, but it doesn't shine through like one of my Plantation offerings. I have so many better rums that I won't waste much time drinking it. I think its' best use will be for guests at my home tiki bar who are not big rum drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by aforbesbiz from United States with 2 ratings

I think this rum is the quintessential Jamaican style rum. Of course it is not a fine sipping rum, but contrary to other reviews, I actually think this one is fine to drink neat. It has just a touch of funk and isn’t overly harsh compared with other rums in its price range. I think it is far superior to something like Bacardi Gold. It’s my go-to Jamaican rum for punches and goes great with cola.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Appleton special with a new badge, Jamaican funk, not my friend but a nice neighbor to party with.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Saw this in the store and thought I’d give it a try. Definitely not a ‘neat’ or ‘sipping’ rum. Haven’t tried it as a mixer, but can see this working well with coke if you’re after that sweet taste followed by a burn.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 176 ratings

J. Wray - nevěřil jsem mu už od počátaku z důvodu Jamajky
Výsledek není zas tak zlý jak by mohl být
Chuť ostřejší lehce štiplavá, ale nepálí tolik
slabších 07/10

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by NvdG from Netherlands with 3 ratings

First of I am letting you know that I drink all my rums with cola light. Cola light keeps the taste of the rum. Regular cola doesn’t.
This is a nice rum to mix. It has a good fruitful flavor and a mild after taste.
I would not recommend this rum for drinking it pure. But as a mixing rum it does very well. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 162 ratings

Its rebranded Appleton Special. It has some basic funk and makes a fine Daiquiri and thats exactly how it should be used. Nothing less nothing more