Posting your rating...
J. Wray Gold rum

Rate J. Wray Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 J. Wray Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

At $15 I doubt this is for sipping but let's give it a go...

Nose:
Very nice little funkiness going on. Very mellow on the nose, you really have to inhale deeply to get even a burn. Tropical fruits, honey, mango nectar, cooked banana is really strong.
Palate:
Surprisingly bland as it hits the tongue but develops as it goes down. The funkiness comes through really nicely. I would almost describe it as tangy.

Overall, this is a great cheap bottle to mix with or to sip on if thats your style. Very good example of a funky Jamaican rum with not too many frills. Very nice value for the price range.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 55 ratings

Decent enough as a Jamaican mixer, but lord have mercy bumboclaat, there is so much better.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

No idea why Appleton Special renamed to this. Standard Jamaica rum, got that funk and probably not a sipper. Still an authentic Jamaica rum. Ya mon

Posted 13 days ago by aforbesbiz from United States with 2 ratings

I think this rum is the quintessential Jamaican style rum. Of course it is not a fine sipping rum, but contrary to other reviews, I actually think this one is fine to drink neat. It has just a touch of funk and isn’t overly harsh compared with other rums in its price range. I think it is far superior to something like Bacardi Gold. It’s my go-to Jamaican rum for punches and goes great with cola.

Posted 6 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Appleton special with a new badge, Jamaican funk, not my friend but a nice neighbor to party with.

Posted 9 months ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Saw this in the store and thought I’d give it a try. Definitely not a ‘neat’ or ‘sipping’ rum. Haven’t tried it as a mixer, but can see this working well with coke if you’re after that sweet taste followed by a burn.

Posted 10 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 172 ratings

J. Wray - nevěřil jsem mu už od počátaku z důvodu Jamajky
Výsledek není zas tak zlý jak by mohl být
Chuť ostřejší lehce štiplavá, ale nepálí tolik
slabších 07/10

Posted 11 months ago by NvdG from Netherlands with 3 ratings

First of I am letting you know that I drink all my rums with cola light. Cola light keeps the taste of the rum. Regular cola doesn’t.
This is a nice rum to mix. It has a good fruitful flavor and a mild after taste.
I would not recommend this rum for drinking it pure. But as a mixing rum it does very well. Cheers!

Posted about 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Its rebranded Appleton Special. It has some basic funk and makes a fine Daiquiri and thats exactly how it should be used. Nothing less nothing more

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

With me having awful memories from when I bought my first and last bottle of J Wray & Nephew Overproof, I was very hesitant to give this one a try. Then after reading reviews here that showed this to be an exact replacement for Appleton Special, I decided to give it a try at only $14 US. Heck, the little paper note around the neck even showed that this is an exact replacement.

In the snifter, it is pale yellow with aromas of hogo funk. The hogo continues on the palate. It is not a neat sipper, but could do well on the rocks or as a mixer. If you are making a large batch of Mai Tai's for a Tiki party, this one could do the trick while saving you money. It is also nothing at all like that awful Overproof that they produce.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

Just okay for a Jamaican rum 🥃 A golden rum with plenty of flavour.Smooth, fruity with a hint of spice. A good go to or drink it in a pinch. But I drink anything.Cheers

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. J. Wray Gold bottle and label design is very lame and boring. Light golden color. Glue and wet socks to the nose and palate. Awful burn at the end. Mix it with Coke and down it goes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Tasted side by side with Appleton Reserve. This is much lighter.
Strong banana taste.
Could use as a cheap mixer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

Found this on the bottom shelf at an LCBO in Ontario. Rot gut has its place but a bit rough even for this old pirate. Nice burn.

Posted about 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Nothing of great interest here. Useful for the party well when making inexpensive drinks. Only the slightest hint of funk and pretty neutral. Nothing offensive so not a bad choice for making non rummies a tropical drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chad from United States with 6 ratings

Not bad.. however I enjoyed it better before the renaming. Seems to me the flavor changed somewhat. I could be wrong but seems like it did.. maybe better for a mixed drink..

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

The gold coloured spirit that is warm yet smooth; medium-bodied on the palate with fruity notes and hints of exotic spices that come through on the lengthy finish.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

Not a fan little strong in the mouth going down not really enjoyable

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

Was pleasantly surprised by this rum especially since it is often found under the $20 mark. Great to spill for bars, parties, and guests but I would probably go with another rum if you are making cocktails for yourself.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

This rum has little character. It's a bit harsh on the sides of the mouth. Not a general bad taste but nothing special. It is ok to mix.