Posting your rating...
J. Wray Gold rum

J. Wray Gold

Jamaica | Gold

5.2/10 (21 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
9
3
5

Rate J. Wray Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 J. Wray Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1923761c8c29790cf1a367a652972be6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

At $15 I doubt this is for sipping but let's give it a go...

Nose:
Very nice little funkiness going on. Very mellow on the nose, you really have to inhale deeply to get even a burn. Tropical fruits, honey, mango nectar, cooked banana is really strong.
Palate:
Surprisingly bland as it hits the tongue but develops as it goes down. The funkiness comes through really nicely. I would almost describe it as tangy.

Overall, this is a great cheap bottle to mix with or to sip on if thats your style. Very good example of a funky Jamaican rum with not too many frills. Very nice value for the price range.

Ab9ccb4fe61ac63aee3f93fd93cd1bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 58 ratings

Decent enough as a Jamaican mixer, but lord have mercy bumboclaat, there is so much better.

C31c5641d4718c3e834aece88c9a47fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

No idea why Appleton Special renamed to this. Standard Jamaica rum, got that funk and probably not a sipper. Still an authentic Jamaica rum. Ya mon

01673de0c533257ddb1a7104fed681f7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

I had low expectations due to some of the reviews on this site and the low cost of this rum, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It's not a bad sipper - not great - but not bad. It adds a nice layer to cocktails, but it doesn't shine through like one of my Plantation offerings. I have so many better rums that I won't waste much time drinking it. I think its' best use will be for guests at my home tiki bar who are not big rum drinkers.

C26cdd7f3e5925b3d6be1c937a9db3ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by aforbesbiz from United States with 2 ratings

I think this rum is the quintessential Jamaican style rum. Of course it is not a fine sipping rum, but contrary to other reviews, I actually think this one is fine to drink neat. It has just a touch of funk and isn’t overly harsh compared with other rums in its price range. I think it is far superior to something like Bacardi Gold. It’s my go-to Jamaican rum for punches and goes great with cola.

991929018b3167c840faee9c62c7386d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Appleton special with a new badge, Jamaican funk, not my friend but a nice neighbor to party with.

31cb2bd11a09b9c9b0178d294defd589.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Saw this in the store and thought I’d give it a try. Definitely not a ‘neat’ or ‘sipping’ rum. Haven’t tried it as a mixer, but can see this working well with coke if you’re after that sweet taste followed by a burn.

69fb36e55457d26566e311f68dee0c5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 175 ratings

J. Wray - nevěřil jsem mu už od počátaku z důvodu Jamajky
Výsledek není zas tak zlý jak by mohl být
Chuť ostřejší lehce štiplavá, ale nepálí tolik
slabších 07/10

Bf331256e33061c10f4ac4334554690a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by NvdG from Netherlands with 3 ratings

First of I am letting you know that I drink all my rums with cola light. Cola light keeps the taste of the rum. Regular cola doesn’t.
This is a nice rum to mix. It has a good fruitful flavor and a mild after taste.
I would not recommend this rum for drinking it pure. But as a mixing rum it does very well. Cheers!

5bd42496ccfef3a9554af15a04d0103a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 156 ratings

Its rebranded Appleton Special. It has some basic funk and makes a fine Daiquiri and thats exactly how it should be used. Nothing less nothing more