Posting your rating...
Khukri XXX rum

Khukri XXX

Nepal | Dark

5.1/10
33 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
8
6
8
5
2

Rate Khukri XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

33 Khukri XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Sehr eigenständiger würziger Geschmack mit gut wahrnehmbarer Schokoladennote.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression.
Had no expectations at all, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. But it’s not that good that I will buy me a bottle.
It’s produced by Nepal Distilleries Private Limited in Kathmandu which started up in 1959. They are mostly known for that one of their bottles that’s shaped like an Nepalese Gurkha knife.
It’s distilled from molasses in a three column still whereafter it’s matured in some kind of special wooden oak vats.
They never empty the vats completely so the youngest rum seems to be just 8 months old while the oldest in the the blend could be quite old, but that age isn’t mentioned. It’s bottled at an ABV of 42,8%.
I can recognize vanilla, caramel, flowers and hints of licorice and menthol. These aromas and flavors goes from the nose via the mouth and palate to the finish which is medium long.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by HenrikHoyer from Norway with 8 ratings

My best tips
Do not buy Rum from Nepal.
This is Not Good

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 28 ratings

Det här var inte kul! Vet inte vad det smakar men vill inte smaka igen.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

- vůně jemná, velmi příjemná, nasládlá
- chuť jemná, kořenitá, bylinná, zajímavá
Není špatný, ale láhev v žádném případě 😀

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

Spicy flavors, pepper, I think there is some moss taste in it. Nothing for me.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 80 ratings

On the nose a little vanilla, some spices and a lot of flowers. On the palate I wonder what kind of wood is being used for the casks; it tastes a bit as how it smells in a Toko (little asian supermarket) mixed with orchids. The scent is more floral, the taste is more spiced. It also has a little 'medicine' touch with some bitter chocolate at the end. Dry (or as good as).
The website states it is oak though and the tannines are familiar. When this is all natural I really would like to know where these tastes find their origin. And since they also have a spiced version I suppose there are no spices added here.

I think I like it but rate it a '6' because it also puzzles me too much for a final judgement. I only tasted one shot and I would rather have a bottle (well, taking my time ofcourse!) to know whether this grows even more on me or just gets boring. Usually one or two shots are all it takes but not with this one as too many questions remain. Interesting rum for sure!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Nez peu present a part en alcool
Premier palais avec des notes epicées mais noyé en fin par une note de café amer.
Au final seul l'amertume ressort.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

Rum and Nepal is not something, that you normally would put in the same sentence, but here we are. I knew of this brands "gimmick" rum Coronation before this, but this one was new to me.

Nose: Molasses, caramel, clove, flowers and vanilla
Taste: Vanilla, brown sugar, molasses and a bitter soapy feel in the aftertaste
Overall: This is a rum, that is all over the place in terms of taste. It has some heavy notes, some more spicy notes, and some bitter notes, that overlaps without complimenting each other. This is not a balanced and focused rum and should be avoided at all costs.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Terzi from Italy with 20 ratings

I was surprised to find a rum in Nepal. Its not the best but ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Blanex from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A rum which is probably not for everybody. Got a particular taste which is best to drink with ice to sweeten the pallet. Ok for a taste. Better to mix probably