Posting your rating...
Khukri XXX rum

Rate Khukri XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Khukri XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 19 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 35 ratings

On the nose a little vanilla, some spices and a lot of flowers. On the palate I wonder what kind of wood is being used for the casks; it tastes a bit as how it smells in a Toko (little asian supermarket) mixed with orchids. The scent is more floral, the taste is more spiced. It also has a little 'medicine' touch with some bitter chocolate at the end. Dry (or as good as).
The website states it is oak though and the tannines are familiar. When this is all natural I really would like to know where these tastes find their origin. And since they also have a spiced version I suppose there are no spices added here.

I think I like it but rate it a '6' because it also puzzles me too much for a final judgement. I only tasted one shot and I would rather have a bottle (well, taking my time ofcourse!) to know whether this grows even more on me or just gets boring. Usually one or two shots are all it takes but not with this one as too many questions remain. Interesting rum for sure!

Posted about 2 months ago by GroumpH from France with 31 ratings

Nez peu present a part en alcool
Premier palais avec des notes epicées mais noyé en fin par une note de café amer.
Au final seul l'amertume ressort.

Posted 3 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Rum and Nepal is not something, that you normally would put in the same sentence, but here we are. I knew of this brands "gimmick" rum Coronation before this, but this one was new to me.

Nose: Molasses, caramel, clove, flowers and vanilla
Taste: Vanilla, brown sugar, molasses and a bitter soapy feel in the aftertaste
Overall: This is a rum, that is all over the place in terms of taste. It has some heavy notes, some more spicy notes, and some bitter notes, that overlaps without complimenting each other. This is not a balanced and focused rum and should be avoided at all costs.

Posted 4 months ago by Terzi from Italy with 13 ratings

I was surprised to find a rum in Nepal. Its not the best but ok.

Posted 4 months ago by Blanex from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A rum which is probably not for everybody. Got a particular taste which is best to drink with ice to sweeten the pallet. Ok for a taste. Better to mix probably

Posted 4 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It reminds me of a medicine i took years ago.
In the end i taste licorice

A very different rum

Posted 4 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

Nose: Nice, sweet, strong, with some hints of smoke.
Palate: strange, untypical, both harsh and sweet at the same time, and...flowers? Maybe perfumed
6,5
(Cal 19, day 19)

Posted 5 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Quite bitter, a smell of herbs and taste of medicine make for a mixed experience.

Posted 5 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

I like rums that surprise me in a good way. This rums has flavors and aromas that I haven’t experienced in other rums (and I have tried a decent amount). It has an citrus/herbal aroma that I could not describe but it was very pleasant. In mouth, it is the first time I was able to identify the tobacco note which is something I’m proud of (my palate is evolving!)

Posted 5 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Næsten ingen duft, måske lidt krydderi. Smag af brændt og dårligt krydderi. Er en egentlig mest en bitter a la gammel dansk. Tæt på en White overproof, som er det værste (19. December 2019 i 1423)

Posted 5 months ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

If you look for special and different rum, this is the one. Finish with cocoa.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Rum neurcitej chuti, nedotiahnuty. Bol som zvedavý ako to robia v Nepale,ale sklamal ma. Mierne korenisty, fádny a ostrejší.

Posted 5 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schönes sattes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase etwas anders, da schlagen einem richtig extreme Blumendüfte entgegen, Orchideen, Frangipani, auch Räucherstäbchen und altes Holz. Es riecht wie in einem Tempel.
Im Gaumen braucht er seine Zeit um sich zu entfalten und möchte etwas länger auf der Zunge verweilen. Schokolade, Karamell in allen Röststufen, tropische Früchte, Orchideen, Gewürze, Holznuancen werden gekonnt in Szene gesetzt.
Im Abgang etwas "brennend" Karamell und Schoko, die Blumen bleiben lange auf der Zunge kleben.Ein Rum der mit sehr speziellen Düften und Aromen daherkommt, ob echt oder künstlich, für mich zu nah an einem Parfüm. Für Entdecker und Mutige.

Nice rich mahogany in the glass.
In the nose a little bit different, there are really extreme floral scents, orchids, frangipani, also incense sticks and old wood. It smells like in a temple.
On the palate it needs time to unfold and wants to stay a little longer on the tongue. Chocolate, caramel in all roasting stages, tropical fruits, orchids, spices, wood nuances are skilfully presented.
In the finish a little bit "burning" caramel and chocolate, the flowers stick on the tongue for a long time, a rum with very special scents and aromas, whether real or artificial, too close to a perfume for me. For discoverers and the brave.

Posted 5 months ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

noter af kakao, læder og kaffe. Meget frugtagtig rom, melet eftersmag

Posted 5 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I've always wanted to buy this brand's Coronation bottle that is shaped like a sword/knife but I've never been able to find it. So, I was interested when the same distillery had a different rum be in my advent calendar for this day. However, I was very disappointed. The nose has some hints of cinnamon and oak but those were overpowered by a cough medicine smell. I was hoping the first taste would be better but unfortunately the strong cough medicine nose and was still there as well a now taste. I'm sad to say I won't be drinking this again.

Posted 6 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Well not very good but also not that bad. Smell is woody and smoky, little bit of spice. Taste is slightly better than smell. Flavours of oak, spice and sugar cane.. I would rate it 5,6...

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Sehr eigenständiger würziger Geschmack mit gut wahrnehmbarer Schokoladennote.

Posted 6 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Mladý, nevyzrálí rum. Chuť je nahoněná pomocí koření. Na Nepál dobrý, na rum podprůměr.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Hmm, herbal, nutmeg, clove. I wonder what is this really? Molasses is there too.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Certainly, this rum has defferent flavor from many othere rum.
I think this is very good fit to drink with Asian food
I enjoy this rum like that way.

Posted over 1 year ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

It won a gold medal so I expected a fine rum, but it clearly wasn't.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tigix87 from Germany with 7 ratings

Different, but not Bad.
Maybe a great Rum for Cocktails.
Nepalis used to Drink it with hot Water during the winter.
Very spicy but without adding of flavors.

Posted over 1 year ago by CSG from United States with 23 ratings

This is a unique spirit. It has the color and smell of rum with some sweetness, but it’s not smooth and becomes overpowered by pepper/spice. It’s also what I would call thin in mouthfeel, something very not rum-like. Can be fine as its own thing, but it won’t mix well and isn’t rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Derek from United States with 1 rating

This is a truly unique and great rum. Rum is my primary liqueur of choice and, given an option, I rarely shy away from it. Though I typically gravitate too black/dark rums, I picked up this nice caramel while stuck in Nepal for a few weeks. It is smooth and is great alone, or with a splash of pineapple.

But... What makes this rum a true gem is the ability to drink it like a fish, bottle after bottle, day by day, and wake up every morning feeling like a million bucks. My college and I downed gallons of this unsung hero of drinks. It was hot, dirty, and miserable, but we didn't care - we had Khukri.