Posting your rating...
Khukri XXX rum

Khukri XXX

Nepal | Dark

5.2/10 (29 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
5
8
4
2

Rate Khukri XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Khukri XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Maximilliano from United States with 7 ratings

Found this rum hiding on the very, very bottom shelf of some unremarkable liquor store in the wrong part of town for $12.99 and decided to purchase it on a whim. Lucky I did - this is one tasty, full-bodied rum! On the nose there's lots of caramel, buttery oak, vanilla, and an unusual almost citrusy-floral note that is hard to place. Going in, there's a beautifully bold, oaky-sweet character that quickly gives way to a spicy, woody note, that doubles up in your mouth and elegantly morphs into a peppery, molasses-like, lingering end. Very unusual aromas of treacle, raisin, and rubber tire. Some may think this to be on the sweet side; I say it is 'bittersweet' with some real heat! Wish I could find more of this stuff - it was the last bottle they had.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

Spicy flavors, pepper, I think there is some moss taste in it. Nothing for me.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

On the nose a little vanilla, some spices and a lot of flowers. On the palate I wonder what kind of wood is being used for the casks; it tastes a bit as how it smells in a Toko (little asian supermarket) mixed with orchids. The scent is more floral, the taste is more spiced. It also has a little 'medicine' touch with some bitter chocolate at the end. Dry (or as good as).
The website states it is oak though and the tannines are familiar. When this is all natural I really would like to know where these tastes find their origin. And since they also have a spiced version I suppose there are no spices added here.

I think I like it but rate it a '6' because it also puzzles me too much for a final judgement. I only tasted one shot and I would rather have a bottle (well, taking my time ofcourse!) to know whether this grows even more on me or just gets boring. Usually one or two shots are all it takes but not with this one as too many questions remain. Interesting rum for sure!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Nez peu present a part en alcool
Premier palais avec des notes epicées mais noyé en fin par une note de café amer.
Au final seul l'amertume ressort.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 144 ratings

Rum and Nepal is not something, that you normally would put in the same sentence, but here we are. I knew of this brands "gimmick" rum Coronation before this, but this one was new to me.

Nose: Molasses, caramel, clove, flowers and vanilla
Taste: Vanilla, brown sugar, molasses and a bitter soapy feel in the aftertaste
Overall: This is a rum, that is all over the place in terms of taste. It has some heavy notes, some more spicy notes, and some bitter notes, that overlaps without complimenting each other. This is not a balanced and focused rum and should be avoided at all costs.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Terzi from Italy with 14 ratings

I was surprised to find a rum in Nepal. Its not the best but ok.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Blanex from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A rum which is probably not for everybody. Got a particular taste which is best to drink with ice to sweeten the pallet. Ok for a taste. Better to mix probably

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It reminds me of a medicine i took years ago.
In the end i taste licorice

A very different rum

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: Nice, sweet, strong, with some hints of smoke.
Palate: strange, untypical, both harsh and sweet at the same time, and...flowers? Maybe perfumed
6,5
(Cal 19, day 19)

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Quite bitter, a smell of herbs and taste of medicine make for a mixed experience.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

I like rums that surprise me in a good way. This rums has flavors and aromas that I haven’t experienced in other rums (and I have tried a decent amount). It has an citrus/herbal aroma that I could not describe but it was very pleasant. In mouth, it is the first time I was able to identify the tobacco note which is something I’m proud of (my palate is evolving!)