Posting your rating...
Lazy Dodo Single Estate rum

Lazy Dodo Single Estate

Mauritius | Aged

6.3/10 (36 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
10
9
5
2

Rate Lazy Dodo Single Estate

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Lazy Dodo Single Estate ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by vdb from Belgium with 20 ratings

Une belle surprise malgré ce qu'on peut en dire. Un aspect négatif cependant c'est le goût trop écoeurant et sans grande découverte. Plutôt rond. J'ai pu le tester pour 25€ donc pas déçu.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rumopijca from Poland with 10 ratings

Bardzo przyjemny i delikatny. Nie jest przesadnie slodki, dla mnie taki akurat. W zapachu wyczuwalna debina. Według mnie fajnie zachowana równowaga smaku między beczką, a owocami tropikalnymi.
Dobry do picia solo. W Old Fashioned klasa!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

Unique taste. This rum has pineapple and earl grey tea flavor.
But there's a lot of body in this rum.
Not bad. But I got bored with half of a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

A marvellous dark rum from Mauritius, produced by the Grays folks behind the New Grove rum range. This expression is made using rum drawn from French and American oak casks. The charming dodo on the label looks at you with a sassy stare, which is fun. Bright grapefruit and mango, joined by fragrant vanilla and chewy toffee.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by SonGoku from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

Na Lazy Dodo mi nejvíc zaujala flaška :) jinak vůně nevýrazná, chuť asi trochu do ovoce ale štiplavej a to já nerad

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 45 ratings

Lazy Dodo Single Estate ist ein Blend aus Jahrgangsrums, welche mindestens 12 Jahre gelagert sind und dann in frischen amerikanischen Eichenfässern kurz nach gelagert wird. Der Rum wird aus Melasse hergestellt welche natürlich fermentieren darf. Melasse Rum ist für Mauritius eher untypisch, spielt für mich aber keine Rolle.

In der Nase ist der Rum durchaus fruchtig. Man sollte ihm aber ein paar Minuten Zeit geben, damit die alkoholische Note verfliegt. Am Gaumen zeigt er sich mit fruchtiger Süße und einem sehr eigenen Geschmack. Zitrusfrüchte sind hier sehr dominant. Ich schmecke an der Zunge aber auch holzige Fassnoten, welche den Rum für mich aufwerten. Der Abgang ist leider kurz und zeigt keine weitere Entwicklung des Rums.

Der Lazy Dodo ist ein eigenwilliger Rum welcher sich für ca. 30-35Euro nicht verstecken braucht. Daher auch 7 statt 6 Flaschen. Die recht eigene Note macht ihn interessant aber für mich dann auch nicht zu einem Rum, welchen ich täglich sippen werde. Am Ende fehlt es ihm vor allem hinten raus doch an dem gewissen Punch. Das Flaschen Design finde ich durchaus Abwechslungsreich.

Lazy Dodo Single Estate is a blend of vintage rums that are stored for at least 12 years and then gets a Finish in fresh American oak barrels. The rum is made from molasses which can ferment naturally. Molasserum is rather untypical for Mauritius, but that does not matter to me.

In the nose, the rum is quite fruity. But you should give him a few minutes to let the alcoholic note evaporate. On the palate it shows itself with fruity sweetness and a very own taste. Citrus fruits are very dominant here. But I also taste woody barrel notes on my tongue, which enhance the rum for me. Unfortunately, the finish is short and shows no further development of the rum.

The Lazy Dodo is an idiosyncratic rum that does not need to hide for about 30-35Euro. Therefore 7 instead of 6 bottles. He has his own taste what makes it interesting but for me it is not a Rum for the daily sipping. All together he lacks a certain punch, especially at the Finish. The bottle design is quite varied.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by AW from Poland with 4 ratings

Great and smooth fruity and vanila finish. Nice with cola

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kudzey from Poland with 7 ratings

Oak and citrus zest in the nose, mild aromas. Sweet fruity taste with pinaple, citrus, oak and sightly bitter taste of tea on the tongue. Very little afterburn, pleasant tea and oak with an interesting fresh feeling at the finish. Overall it's decent but far from great. It seems the rum is incomplete, lacks bold character, the taste composition is not particularly deep.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 195 ratings

Smells like agricole. Of all agricole rums this is the one I could enjoy.

Smell: fermented citrus fruits, vanilla, some caramel
Taste: paper, slight sweetness, citrus fruits, spice, some bitterness
Nice fruity aftertaste. Green apple.

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Cuvelierl from Belgium with 28 ratings

Should be great for tiki cocktails. But imo is much to sweet to drink on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Not very big on flavor, basic quite basic. The most noticeable is earthiness.