Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10 (415 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
20
83
171
100
22
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


415 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Mi-corsé et plus sec que ce qu'on attendrait, il révèle en bouche des saveurs de clou de girofle, de chocolat noir et de fruits séchés, menant à une finale chaleureuse de longueur moyenne. excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I did a “vertical” tasting of the 4, 7, 12 & 18 simultaneously w/one of my sons. The results were exactly predictable and guided by the price points. It’s not unusual to have a lower aged rum best it’s elder “brother” but not here. The 4 & 7 are good for Cuba Libre’s while the 12 & 18 older brothers are better for sipping. Bottom line is that when I see the distillery promoting “ sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade“ rather than the layers of flavors you know you’re not in the +8 range.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jamiet from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I can't believe the Kirk & Sweeney 12 year gets a much higher rating than this! I find this a much better rum in all aspects. I even drink it neat on occasion, but it's not really sweet enough for me as a sipper.
It's excellent value and I like their production values and ethos too.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 163 ratings

I should have tasted this and the 18 before the 25. I am totally jaded now! This 12 is solid and very drinkable, but just can’t compare to the 25. Certainly great at this price. Sorry Flor de Cana. I just can’t give this an impartial review. The 25 was so good this one is in it’s shadow. This is like driving a Ferrari then an Alpha Romero afterwards. The Alpha is a great car but after driving the Ferrari it wouldn’t seem as good as it is.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 38 ratings

The nose is quite nice, with polished wood and spice - a typical profile. The palate has the same polished oak aromas found in the nose, raisin and ripe pear, leading to a good length finish. It’s quite good although nothing just makes me go, “wow!”, either. I’d probably use this as a very nice mixer over a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Tomeczek from Poland with 11 ratings

Quite good rum in very good price. However I didn't find it best to drink solo, way better in mixes.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Surge from Colombia with 18 ratings

Classic, soft rum right here. One of the best. Vanilla and toffee. A definite MUST, can’t say you won’t like it!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Was expecting more from this. I prefer the 18 year

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by liviuhorgos from Romania with 7 ratings

This a bit of an alcoholic rum, but fine and tasty; not very extractive, more like a cognac style.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by baldsteve123 from United States with 3 ratings

Was hoping for something just a bit more smooth. Nice flavor---vanilla, raisin, but slightly overpowered by the alcohol. Moving on a few years.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by David Kundrt from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Jemný 12ti letý single rum... Jemný, příjemný, jemný finis