Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged | 40.0% ABV

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10
479 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
26
104
193
111
24
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

479 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

Finally talked my Elks bar into getting some sipping rum. The only one our distributer had was this. Very mild aroma. Very smooth, little or no afterburn. Aroma and taste is mild floral. Worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jan from United States with 7 ratings

A great choice: not pricy, still great complex flavor. Sweet, but not as sweet as for example El Dorado 12y.
Very nice on the tongue, great aftertaste ("right" amount of sting).

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Steve from Canada with 3 ratings

With iPhones its so easy to read a few reviews online when searching out a new rum at the LCBO. that is exactly what made me buy it. first try was straight up, to be honest i found it one of the harshest rum's I've had to date.
next a friend and i tried it with coke, that was very good. It will be my go to rum with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

Bottle : It has a nice looking bottle with great color of the rum. That and a tip from a friend lent to buy of this bottle.
Nose : Nice round and full scent.
Taste : Nice full and rich taste.. With a awful full tone of orange.
Finish : Long finish wich evolves and leave your mouth filled with that awful taste of orange.

Bare in mind that i really hate the taste of orange when you read this tasting. It´s a fine rum, if you like pyrat xo and zacapa solera 23, you will probably like this one too..

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Ein schöner feiner Rum. Sanft im Mund. Ein Hauch von Trockenbeeren rundet den Geschmack ab. Kann schon pur getrunken werden.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

As a sweet-tooth, this rum can be sometimes too dry for me, but nonetheless a very good sipper!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Happy to have this in my collection smooth and flavourful enjoy

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Ok Rom.
Men ikke rigtig nogen eftersmag.
18 års så meget bedre.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Flor de Caña seems to seesaw in profiles. After the 7 yr, this one friends to heavier wood notes. Quite smooth and enjoyable. Best chilled.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I tried this rum with 3 cigar pairings over several sessions in a single day.

The first pairing was with a A fuente gran reserva maduro. I found the alcohol to just come to the top of the nose sharply as well as the palate, I also felt it went down a bit fiery in the throat a rarity for a 12 year old rum.

The second pairing was a brick house Maduro a sweeter spicier Nicaraguan cigar seemed to pair much better and the flavors came out a bit more and it seemed sweeter and smoother overall as the cigar paired well with this.

The final pairing was a 7-20-4 Maduro. this was an unmemorable experience and I don't think the pairing helped nor detracted from this experience.

Overall, I would smoke a Brick house cigar maduro wrapper anytime with this as a perfect pairing which enhanced the rum.

On its own this rum I felt was below the bar I was expecting for its age and price point. Its incredibly sharp nose detracted from this. I actually held my nose like a child as I drank this from my snifter. This also was fiery in the throat a rarity for a more aged rum almost comparable to a lower end gold but not quite. Mixed its much better but at the general price of admission I could point you to plantation artisinal or 10+ other rum mixers which are on par or better actually, so I have omitted this from my score.

Overall, I wanted to love this rum, I really did. I have heard so many great things about it. This experience detracts me from this rum line away from trying 18. I think ill stick with other lines for now.

Finally, I was not Flor'd.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not a bad rum but I do wonder what all the fuss is about to be honest. Very forgettable

thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com