Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10(442 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
21
90
184
104
23
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

442 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by W.D. from Cayman Islands with 10 ratings

This is a nice flavoured rum. Very good with coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Flor de Caña seems to seesaw in profiles. After the 7 yr, this one friends to heavier wood notes. Quite smooth and enjoyable. Best chilled.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I tried this rum with 3 cigar pairings over several sessions in a single day.

The first pairing was with a A fuente gran reserva maduro. I found the alcohol to just come to the top of the nose sharply as well as the palate, I also felt it went down a bit fiery in the throat a rarity for a 12 year old rum.

The second pairing was a brick house Maduro a sweeter spicier Nicaraguan cigar seemed to pair much better and the flavors came out a bit more and it seemed sweeter and smoother overall as the cigar paired well with this.

The final pairing was a 7-20-4 Maduro. this was an unmemorable experience and I don't think the pairing helped nor detracted from this experience.

Overall, I would smoke a Brick house cigar maduro wrapper anytime with this as a perfect pairing which enhanced the rum.

On its own this rum I felt was below the bar I was expecting for its age and price point. Its incredibly sharp nose detracted from this. I actually held my nose like a child as I drank this from my snifter. This also was fiery in the throat a rarity for a more aged rum almost comparable to a lower end gold but not quite. Mixed its much better but at the general price of admission I could point you to plantation artisinal or 10+ other rum mixers which are on par or better actually, so I have omitted this from my score.

Overall, I wanted to love this rum, I really did. I have heard so many great things about it. This experience detracts me from this rum line away from trying 18. I think ill stick with other lines for now.

Finally, I was not Flor'd.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not a bad rum but I do wonder what all the fuss is about to be honest. Very forgettable

thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 75 ratings

Nice rum and somehow it can be compared with Pyrat. Not so sweet and has some kind of herbal touch to it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Very balanced and conservative rum. No rough edges. Very good choice for Newcomers!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Harsh nose. They have changed the bottle which I think is nicer now.

Caramel, a little woody and fresh grapes. Really opens up with an ice cube.

Price is great for what you get. I don't mind sipping it and I don't mind if my GF splits it with cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Smagen af træ - eg - fylder smagen, som bliver tør og lidt kedelig, mangler flere nuancer at spille op imod.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

You can easily get away with serving this one as a sipper. Like it's older brother - the 18 year old - it's not that sweet. So if you are into rums like the Diplomatico this might not light your spark.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Le 18 comme le 12 ans d'âge sont de bons représentants des rons, mais ne se démarquent pas. Ils manquent de caractère et de longueur !

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Amber
Flavour : Woody and nutty, gentle ripe fruits, sweet spices
Palate : Rich, mature, mid-bodied

A little bit too woody to my opinion, could be match easily with a cigar