Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged | 40.0% ABV

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10
471 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
25
103
188
110
24
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

471 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Was a 6.5 of 10 on my scale, but the more I sampled over time, the more the oak came out and the more I enjoyed.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Good , but not more then 7/10. Smooth and nice finish . Good on rocks or in drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Canada with 5 ratings

Received this bottle as a gift, and tasted on the rocks straight up. Smooth, nice finish, a great all around Friday night (or any night) sipping rum - great touch to add to your collection. Nice!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

it started as a 5, not sure if it will ever get to an 8. again, this is a rum you can sip. it is the only way i drink rum. neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

I cannot give this rum more than 6 because it simply is not as good as DR or ED 8YO.
I bought it because of the wonderful flask shaped bottle and low price (20 euro). It had fantastic smell of nougat but thats about when all the great things ceased to flow.
Tastewise the rum offers you nuts, possibly walnuts and off course some nougat. But that is all. Nothing more.
It is too boozy so not much on the soft side with this rum. I think finished the bottle very quickly because I simply did not want to have the bottle on my shelf for too long.
Decent but boring rum which promises more on the nose than it delivers on the palate. For the money it is well worth trying but this is hardly a rebuy.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first thing I noticed is that this really doesn't have a typical rum aroma in the bottle. Seems a bit stronger and less sweet indicative of a drier rum. Tasting it confirms it. This is definitely a dry rum that has hints of sweetness with some bitters. Some who probably enjoy bourbon would appreciate this as a sipping rum while others, including myself will find this excellent in mixed drinks and colas. A nice rum but seems to be appreciated most by experienced rum connoisseurs.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Not my favorite rum. I like smoother rum than this .Need taste 18 and 25 years.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Lekker zacht,beter dan de 7. Geen heel uitgesproken smaak maar drinkt erg lekker en makkelijk weg.

Small img 20160817 175205

Posted over 5 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 76 ratings

...macht aber trotzdem grosse Hoffnung auf die älteren Tropfen des Hauses Flor de Cana. Wenn dann auf Eis geniessen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First rum from this distillery and the alcool is too present, too young. No specific flavor. Short of the finish. Need to test 18y and 25y.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Flor de cana ist nicht mein absoluter Favorit aber mit Eis kann man ihn gut trinken.