Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged | 40.0% ABV

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10
471 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
25
103
188
110
24
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

471 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

With so many other delicious rums out there why waste time? Give me a Zaya, or even a plantation double dark over this any day. Not horrible, but not something I’d spend my money on.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by ronBastion from Germany with 9 ratings

Very disapointing for a 12 year old rum. Strong burn and taste is almost just alcohol. Maybe I'm just not a fan of FDC!? Didn't like the 7yo either.

Small img 20200524 104415

Posted 8 months ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Slow aged Ron with semi sweet taste where some bits of caramel, fruits, nugat and oak signs are present. Nice smell and colour. Overall ok.

Small img 20210110 180302

Posted 8 months ago by Florin from Romania with 36 ratings

Am avut (si am inca) o senzatie ciudata legata de acest rom. a fost prima data cand am facut o infruntare intre 2 romuri: flor de cana 12 si cel de 18 ani . am observat ca cel de 18 ani pare sa aiba o ardere mai puternica iar alcoolul poarta cumva aromele si se plimba practic impreuna. am avut senzatia initial ca si 12 face la fel si am fost convins ca e aproape identic si ma gandeam deja ca nu merita investitia in plus pt 18 . in serile urmatoare am observat ca nu se simte in acelasi stil taria si se simte mai degraba pe gat , este un rom mult mai cuminte dar nu e totusi o inglobare a tariei sau vreun echilibru ( cum nu e nici la 18 de altfel) doar ca imprastie taria in moduri diferite si asta m a dezamagit la 12 pentru ca pt 18 o vedeam ca o calitate
se simt in miros ceva condimente si ceva citric pe care n am reusit sa l disting (cum am reusit dupa ceva timp la 18 sa mi dau seama ca e o aroma subtila de portocala)
in gust se simte o combinatie de caramel cu iz dulceag , dar si ceva amarui si in postgust tabac si amareala persistenta .

este posibil sa fi fost o gresala ca am inceput tocmai cu cel de 18 ani si acum cu cel de 12 .cel de 18 statea de 2 luni (poate mai mult) cu ceva licoare spre terminare de sticla si tot a fost mult peste 12 .
ramane totusi de luat in seama ca gustul nu e rau iar aromele par naturale si din cate stiu nu are zahar sau are foarte putin

sper ca cel de 7 care sta la coada sa fie mai bun ))

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Flauda from France with 18 ratings

Good rhum well balanced not too sweet, with aroms of caramel and vanilla, but a little too strong oak taste, overwhelming.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by L.e.d from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

- Roku 1875 ital Alfredo Francisco Pellas Canessa cestuje do Nicaragui. 1890 zakládá Flor de Cana destilerii v San Antoniu hned vedle San Cristóbal, to je nejaktivnější sopka v Nicarague. Pátá generace rodiny Pellasů řídí společnost dodnes.
- Zrání probíhá 12 let v dubových sudech po burbonu 5 mil od aktivní sopky. Řadí se do skupiny polosladkých rumů.
- Barva je jantarová
- Vůně je plná, sladká po nugátu a vanilce.
- Chuť je po nugátu, mandlích, třešních a vanilce s pikantním kořením.
Zůstává chuť karamelu a dubové kúry.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 21 ratings

Makes a great rum old fashioned. Goes down smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by NobleShabba from United States with 2 ratings

Check out my profile for my personal scoring method, click more to see my full review.
Recommendation: Fine with a chaser & ice, maybe a cola to compliment the slight bitter

Color - a little lighter than my preference but it will do (1)
Volatility - a deep inhale of the glass gives quite a vapor hit, but sipping is not as harsh as expected (3)
Legs - solid legs, no feathering at all (1)
Complexity - starts out a little uneventful, the middle is slightly bitter but bearable, after-taste fades quickly but not immediately (1)

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by ogybass from Hungary with 15 ratings

good rum for little money, an essential accessory for ordinary rum

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by nezn4my from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Very nice rum, a bit of alcohol kick at the end but in a nice way. It might lack refinement of his Caribbean cousins but it has definitely character which is worthy to try. My cabinet permanent addition.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by PieterVanHoef from Belgium with 16 ratings

Very nice rum. Very smooth, tasteful. Lovely to drink on the rocks