Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña Centenario 12-Year rum is distilled in a continuous column still process, then rests for 12 years in small American white oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

Flor de Caña was founded in 1890 by Francisco Alfredo Pellas at the San Antonio Sugar Mill, in Chichigalpa, Nicaragua. The company remains headed by the Pellas family to this day and harvests the molasses and sugarcane used to create their rum from fields adjacent to the distillery in Chichigalpa.

Rate Flor de Cana 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


376 Flor de Cana 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Up to the point of trying the FDC 12, my rum purchases had mostly been sweeter rums. So upon first taste, this tasted a bit thin and dry. Many positive reviews encouraged me to be patient, so I did and that patience was rewarded. I've come to enjoy this one and actually find myself thinking of bourbon occasionally as I sip. After having taken a breather from my sweeter rums to get acclimated with the FDC 12, I decided to try the Plantation XO again recently. I couldn't believe how sweet the Plantation tasted! Still love the Plantation but the two rums couldn't be more different. Variety is the spice of life!

Posted over 6 years ago by Gerry from Switzerland with 15 ratings

adorable with a bite of chocolate... and even if you dont have chocolate :o)

Posted over 7 years ago by Simon Richard from Canada with 15 ratings

Très doux et bien balancé.
Really smooth and well balanced.

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Not a bad rum if you like whisky, but not for me ultimately. The good: cheap, some character up front, smooth finish. The bad: not much in the way of flavor, at least not for a 12. Defenders will say it's subtle, but I'd say too much so. Also, I found it is oddly similar in taste to Don Q Anejo, not sure why this is, but it is.

Posted over 7 years ago by Newf from Canada with 5 ratings

First tried this Rum recently and loved it. First few were with Coke but with the 12 and 18 year old, they are perfect straight up

Posted 3 days ago by Indian1 from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Very good rhum, not so sweet. Very similar 18 YO. No spirit flavour, tasty caramel and oak

Posted 5 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

This rum is priced right for a better sipping rum. Different flavor warm vs cold.

Posted 6 days ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Rum jsem naslepo zvolila kvůli krásné flašce, aniž bych tušila, jak chutná. Pro mě celkem zklamání, suchý drsný rum. A jeho 18letá verze není o nic lepší.

Posted 9 days ago by Willem from Netherlands with 8 ratings

This rum is one of my favourites, been in Nicaragua at the distillery. Very nice to be there and pair it with a Nicaraguan cigar

Posted 11 days ago by carl from United States with 20 ratings

Decent sipping rum, preferred it with a bit of ice. It had a little bit of burn in the finish with some warm oak/wood overtones. Decent for the mid-range price ($36 US).

Posted 11 days ago by asloper6001 from United States with 2 ratings

Good Rum to sip or mix with drink. A little pricey, but definitely good sip.

Posted 16 days ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

A refreshingly light rum with a favour of dried fruits, but still without a bothersome sharpness or burning mouthfeel which many rums at this level still has.
Please note that this review is for the original Flor de Cana 12 year old, not the newer bottles with the "Legacy" label. The Legacy has a much thinner flavour and less sweetness and is a least a point below in the rating.

Posted 18 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It’s good but as soon as you have it’s older sister you won’t go back. I ended up mixing it with coke. It was a little harsh but the aftertaste was good.

Posted 19 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Not super sweet but significantly smoother than the 7 year. Great over some rocks and makes a very luxurious Daiquiri.

Posted 21 days ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 6/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Posted 23 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Common aromas, simple but good.
It's like Barcelo Onyx, smooth with a lot of wood.

Smell: oak, caramel, dry fruits,
Taste: smooth, caramel, wood, some fruit (apricot), spice

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 4/5

Posted 23 days ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

This is a great value for the quality of rum that you get. The aroma and palate is very similar to Santa Teresa and Real McCoy 12. It’s a good to go drink.

Posted 24 days ago by Martijn from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Een rum die makkelijk weg drinkt maar niet lekker blijft hangen .

Posted 24 days ago by Evelien from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Vlakke rum. Doet weinig in eerste instantie. Droog en houtig in het midden maar verdwijnt vrij snel. Alcohol blijft langer hangen.

Posted 26 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Tento rum jsem si zakoupil jelikož má krásnou láhev. Je to dobrý rum i na dlouhé popíjení.

Vůně: příjemná
Chuť: vyvážená, dojezd tvrdší
Opětovná koupě: ne
Cena: okolo 800,- Kč

Posted about 1 month ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

I smell the coconut, caramel aroma, woody flavour, not too intensive, short finish.

Posted about 1 month ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

Lighter than it looks, with nice oak and vanilla undertones, it’s not quite as smooth as I’d expect after 12 years in the barrel. Still a solid choice to sip, and stands up well to ice or lime.

Posted about 1 month ago by chuck from United States with 15 ratings

This rum is very smooth and great in all sort of cocktails

Posted about 1 month ago by jack herrer from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

bit stronger, than i would expect from a 12yr old rum.