Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10 (417 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
20
85
171
100
22
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


417 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pavel Strnad from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Definitely not sweet. I would say dry.
What is very important in time of sweet rums everywhere. Good matured feeling, very good bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I love the Flor de Cana line of rums and the 12 year is no exception. For those of you that enjoy whiskey and bourbon, this is for you. For you rum lovers, you won't be disappointed either. No harsh flavor with limited heat going down. Complex characteristics with a nice contrast of oakiness and sweetness made for sipping neat. I would go with Flor de Cana's younger siblings for mixing with a less expensive price tag.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

This rum is somewhat inbetween a sipper and a mixer.
Iits good enough for sipping without ice but its not the best at it.
It mixes well in drinks but lacks a bit of the punch of its younger siblings.
I would get a 7yrs and the 18yrs one for each purpose.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ed from Spain with 8 ratings

I have edited my previous praising review (in fact erased it). My experiece dated back to the previous incarnation of this rum in its more beautiful rounded bottle. I rated it with a 10, so good it was for me.

I have been tasting the current offering on its new bottle and it's not as good. It's a real shame because I loved it before, sweared by it and recommended it as the best rum I knew, haven't tasted anything like it ever since. Previously I liked how dry/whisky like it was, its oakyness and depth... now it's more caramel tasting and less complex. I want to try again the 7 year Flor de Caña, maybe it would me more to my liking...

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 308 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Was hoping for better, since it's relatively low priced, and ubiquitous. Has a bit of an acrid and rubber taste, with very little finish, and less molasses than I expected. I will use the rest of this bottle for guests who want a drink and haven't developed a palate yet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Slow aged Ron with semi sweet taste where some bits of caramel, fruits, nugat and oak signs are present. Nice smell and colour. Overall ok.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Florin from Romania with 27 ratings

Am avut (si am inca) o senzatie ciudata legata de acest rom. a fost prima data cand am facut o infruntare intre 2 romuri: flor de cana 12 si cel de 18 ani . am observat ca cel de 18 ani pare sa aiba o ardere mai puternica iar alcoolul poarta cumva aromele si se plimba practic impreuna. am avut senzatia initial ca si 12 face la fel si am fost convins ca e aproape identic si ma gandeam deja ca nu merita investitia in plus pt 18 . in serile urmatoare am observat ca nu se simte in acelasi stil taria si se simte mai degraba pe gat , este un rom mult mai cuminte dar nu e totusi o inglobare a tariei sau vreun echilibru ( cum nu e nici la 18 de altfel) doar ca imprastie taria in moduri diferite si asta m a dezamagit la 12 pentru ca pt 18 o vedeam ca o calitate
se simt in miros ceva condimente si ceva citric pe care n am reusit sa l disting (cum am reusit dupa ceva timp la 18 sa mi dau seama ca e o aroma subtila de portocala)
in gust se simte o combinatie de caramel cu iz dulceag , dar si ceva amarui si in postgust tabac si amareala persistenta .

este posibil sa fi fost o gresala ca am inceput tocmai cu cel de 18 ani si acum cu cel de 12 .cel de 18 statea de 2 luni (poate mai mult) cu ceva licoare spre terminare de sticla si tot a fost mult peste 12 .
ramane totusi de luat in seama ca gustul nu e rau iar aromele par naturale si din cate stiu nu are zahar sau are foarte putin

sper ca cel de 7 care sta la coada sa fie mai bun ))

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Flauda from France with 14 ratings

Good rhum well balanced not too sweet, with aroms of caramel and vanilla, but a little too strong oak taste, overwhelming.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by L.e.d from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

- Roku 1875 ital Alfredo Francisco Pellas Canessa cestuje do Nicaragui. 1890 zakládá Flor de Cana destilerii v San Antoniu hned vedle San Cristóbal, to je nejaktivnější sopka v Nicarague. Pátá generace rodiny Pellasů řídí společnost dodnes.
- Zrání probíhá 12 let v dubových sudech po burbonu 5 mil od aktivní sopky. Řadí se do skupiny polosladkých rumů.
- Barva je jantarová
- Vůně je plná, sladká po nugátu a vanilce.
- Chuť je po nugátu, mandlích, třešních a vanilce s pikantním kořením.
Zůstává chuť karamelu a dubové kúry.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 8 ratings

Makes a great rum old fashioned. Goes down smooth.