Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged | 40.0% ABV

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10
479 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
26
104
193
111
24
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

479 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

Finally talked my Elks bar into getting some sipping rum. The only one our distributer had was this. Very mild aroma. Very smooth, little or no afterburn. Aroma and taste is mild floral. Worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Was hoping for better, since it's relatively low priced, and ubiquitous. Has a bit of an acrid and rubber taste, with very little finish, and less molasses than I expected. I will use the rest of this bottle for guests who want a drink and haven't developed a palate yet.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I love the Flor de Cana line of rums and the 12 year is no exception. For those of you that enjoy whiskey and bourbon, this is for you. For you rum lovers, you won't be disappointed either. No harsh flavor with limited heat going down. Complex characteristics with a nice contrast of oakiness and sweetness made for sipping neat. I would go with Flor de Cana's younger siblings for mixing with a less expensive price tag.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

This rum is somewhat inbetween a sipper and a mixer.
Iits good enough for sipping without ice but its not the best at it.
It mixes well in drinks but lacks a bit of the punch of its younger siblings.
I would get a 7yrs and the 18yrs one for each purpose.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ed from Spain with 8 ratings

I have edited my previous praising review (in fact erased it). My experiece dated back to the previous incarnation of this rum in its more beautiful rounded bottle. I rated it with a 10, so good it was for me.

I have been tasting the current offering on its new bottle and it's not as good. It's a real shame because I loved it before, sweared by it and recommended it as the best rum I knew, haven't tasted anything like it ever since. Previously I liked how dry/whisky like it was, its oakyness and depth... now it's more caramel tasting and less complex. I want to try again the 7 year Flor de Caña, maybe it would me more to my liking...

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. Solid rum for mixing and if you want a sipping rum just add this to some ice and you will be quite happy. Not as smooth as the 18 year old but it is great value for the money here in Ontario. A step up from the 7 year old version. It's a must have in your collection at $40 a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.

Small 20210408 221403

Posted 1 month ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 14 ratings

I was hesitant to buy it, since I was not that big of fan of the 5 year old. Luckily much smoother. Not bad. Just ok

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by BoD from Canada with 7 ratings

Great flavour. Great value. I'll aways have a bottle on hand.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ponge from Belgium with 13 ratings

Really enjoy this rum be it as a mixer or a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by spagr from Czech Republic with 43 ratings

Not bad, not good. With whisky ending. Tasted in Drinks by the dram tasting set.