Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10 (415 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
20
83
171
100
22
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


415 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

A nice aroma and colour in the glass , a little astringent at first but settles down quickly into a very well made rum with just the right amount of sweetness in it. Nice exit with no real burn , enjoyable. Also makes a good mixer.
Would like to try the 18 or 25.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I love the Flor de Cana line of rums and the 12 year is no exception. For those of you that enjoy whiskey and bourbon, this is for you. For you rum lovers, you won't be disappointed either. No harsh flavor with limited heat going down. Complex characteristics with a nice contrast of oakiness and sweetness made for sipping neat. I would go with Flor de Cana's younger siblings for mixing with a less expensive price tag.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

This rum is somewhat inbetween a sipper and a mixer.
Iits good enough for sipping without ice but its not the best at it.
It mixes well in drinks but lacks a bit of the punch of its younger siblings.
I would get a 7yrs and the 18yrs one for each purpose.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ed from Spain with 8 ratings

I have edited my previous praising review (in fact erased it). My experiece dated back to the previous incarnation of this rum in its more beautiful rounded bottle. I rated it with a 10, so good it was for me.

I have been tasting the current offering on its new bottle and it's not as good. It's a real shame because I loved it before, sweared by it and recommended it as the best rum I knew, haven't tasted anything like it ever since. Previously I liked how dry/whisky like it was, its oakyness and depth... now it's more caramel tasting and less complex. I want to try again the 7 year Flor de Caña, maybe it would me more to my liking...

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Was hoping for better, since it's relatively low priced, and ubiquitous. Has a bit of an acrid and rubber taste, with very little finish, and less molasses than I expected. I will use the rest of this bottle for guests who want a drink and haven't developed a palate yet.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Slow aged Ron with semi sweet taste where some bits of caramel, fruits, nugat and oak signs are present. Nice smell and colour. Overall ok.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Flauda from France with 14 ratings

Good rhum well balanced not too sweet, with aroms of caramel and vanilla, but a little too strong oak taste, overwhelming.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by L.e.d from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

- Roku 1875 ital Alfredo Francisco Pellas Canessa cestuje do Nicaragui. 1890 zakládá Flor de Cana destilerii v San Antoniu hned vedle San Cristóbal, to je nejaktivnější sopka v Nicarague. Pátá generace rodiny Pellasů řídí společnost dodnes.
- Zrání probíhá 12 let v dubových sudech po burbonu 5 mil od aktivní sopky. Řadí se do skupiny polosladkých rumů.
- Barva je jantarová
- Vůně je plná, sladká po nugátu a vanilce.
- Chuť je po nugátu, mandlích, třešních a vanilce s pikantním kořením.
Zůstává chuť karamelu a dubové kúry.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 4 ratings

Makes a great rum old fashioned. Goes down smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by NobleShabba from United States with 2 ratings

Check out my profile for my personal scoring method, click more to see my full review.
Recommendation: Fine with a chaser & ice, maybe a cola to compliment the slight bitter

Color - a little lighter than my preference but it will do (1)
Volatility - a deep inhale of the glass gives quite a vapor hit, but sipping is not as harsh as expected (3)
Legs - solid legs, no feathering at all (1)
Complexity - starts out a little uneventful, the middle is slightly bitter but bearable, after-taste fades quickly but not immediately (1)