Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña Centenario 12-Year rum is distilled in a continuous column still process, then rests for 12 years in small American white oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

Flor de Caña was founded in 1890 by Francisco Alfredo Pellas at the San Antonio Sugar Mill, in Chichigalpa, Nicaragua. The company remains headed by the Pellas family to this day and harvests the molasses and sugarcane used to create their rum from fields adjacent to the distillery in Chichigalpa.

Rate Flor de Cana 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


376 Flor de Cana 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase am Anfang sehr leicht, fruchtig und blumig. Jeh länger Er atmet umso mehr gehen die Düfte in die tiefe, gebranntes Karamell, Leder, Tabak, dunkles Holz, Lavagestein.
Im Gaumen, kompromisslos ehrlich und ohne Firlefanz. Angenehm jagen die Aromen von unreifen Früchten, Karamell, Vanille und Eichenholz über die Zunge. Jegliche Süsse fehlt.
im Abgang, sehr holzig und scharf und doch sehr lieblich. Auch die fruchtigen und blumigen Töne schwingen nach.
Ein Ron für Geniesser, finde jedoch diese art von Ron könnte noch ein paar Jahre im Fass lagern, freue mich auf eine Verkostung des 25 yo.

Golden amber in the glass.
In the nose at the beginning very light, fruity and floral. The longer he breathes the more the scents go into the deep, burned caramel, leather, tobacco, dark wood, lava rock.
On the palate, uncompromisingly honest and without frills. The aromas of unripe fruits, caramel, vanilla and oak wood pleasantly haunt the tongue. Any sweetness is missing.
On the finish, very woody and spicy and yet very kind. The fruity and floral tones also resonate.
A Ron for connoisseurs, but think this kind of Ron could be mature for a few more years in the barrel, looking forward to a tasting of the 25 yo.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Good en zeker niet slecht maar er zijn betere 12 oude rum'

Posted over 4 years ago by RumDeDum from United States with 8 ratings

Overall, I think Flor de Cana rums are a great value. Not the ultra best, but always solid quality. Their aged rums, starting with the 12 year old, are very nice. This is a great rum with mixers, although a bit too sweet for cola. I enjoy it on the rocks and think it is one of the best for this style.

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Good , but not more then 7/10. Smooth and nice finish . Good on rocks or in drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Canada with 5 ratings

Received this bottle as a gift, and tasted on the rocks straight up. Smooth, nice finish, a great all around Friday night (or any night) sipping rum - great touch to add to your collection. Nice!

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

it started as a 5, not sure if it will ever get to an 8. again, this is a rum you can sip. it is the only way i drink rum. neat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

I cannot give this rum more than 6 because it simply is not as good as DR or ED 8YO.
I bought it because of the wonderful flask shaped bottle and low price (20 euro). It had fantastic smell of nougat but thats about when all the great things ceased to flow.
Tastewise the rum offers you nuts, possibly walnuts and off course some nougat. But that is all. Nothing more.
It is too boozy so not much on the soft side with this rum. I think finished the bottle very quickly because I simply did not want to have the bottle on my shelf for too long.
Decent but boring rum which promises more on the nose than it delivers on the palate. For the money it is well worth trying but this is hardly a rebuy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first thing I noticed is that this really doesn't have a typical rum aroma in the bottle. Seems a bit stronger and less sweet indicative of a drier rum. Tasting it confirms it. This is definitely a dry rum that has hints of sweetness with some bitters. Some who probably enjoy bourbon would appreciate this as a sipping rum while others, including myself will find this excellent in mixed drinks and colas. A nice rum but seems to be appreciated most by experienced rum connoisseurs.

Posted over 4 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Not my favorite rum. I like smoother rum than this .Need taste 18 and 25 years.

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Lekker zacht,beter dan de 7. Geen heel uitgesproken smaak maar drinkt erg lekker en makkelijk weg.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

...macht aber trotzdem grosse Hoffnung auf die älteren Tropfen des Hauses Flor de Cana. Wenn dann auf Eis geniessen.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First rum from this distillery and the alcool is too present, too young. No specific flavor. Short of the finish. Need to test 18y and 25y.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Flor de cana ist nicht mein absoluter Favorit aber mit Eis kann man ihn gut trinken.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

The only reason I didn't give it an 8 was because of its lack of depth and complexity. Very smooth, especially with an ice cube, but not a lot of flavor.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Larry from United States with 4 ratings

was moving a friend and found this in a closet, unopened...no idea how old it is....turned out to be a great find...over ice it has a whiskeyish smoothness ...a good sipper

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Overall, pretty good stuff. It's hard to pick up all the scents over that sharp alcohol smell.
This is one I prefer with one small ice cube to open it up a bit.
For 30 bucks a bottle, this is a good value rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stephan from Canada with 14 ratings

I had higher expectation considering it is a 12 yr. I like my rum smoother than this one. It also lack some complexity in flavours imo. Overall this is not a bad rum considering its cheap price but for a few more bucks there are better options for me. 6.5/10

Posted almost 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

Not a bad rum, particularly if you like really smooth rums, but it's almost too smooth. Not much flavor or bite. Not sure I'm putting this one on my go to list.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

This is probably the highest rated rum that I would only use as a mixer, no sipping. The sipping quality just isn't there.

Posted about 5 years ago by jason from United States with 4 ratings

For me this was just not a great rum it ok will probably use it in mixed drinks but not for sipping

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

Manque de finesse, trop sur l'alcool.
peu de longueur en bouche, peu d'arome
un peu déçu finalement, je m'attendais a mieux venant d'un 12 ans

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its well balanced rum really nice sipping rum not for mixing( my opinion)

Posted about 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Expanding from the Grand Reserve, this mid-level aged rum offers a little more complexity and richness.

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

A bit smoother, fuller and complex than his younger 7y brother. Sweet and nice touch of flavour of butter. I like new bottle design. Compared with older version (somebody says that is better receipt), there small difference in taste, but I like newer more.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jariii from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Již se prodává v nové hezčí láhvi, velice jemný rum, ne moc sladký, jemně kořeněný, ale nic navíc mě na něm bohužel nezaujalo.