Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10 (417 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
20
85
171
100
22
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


417 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Manque de concentration et manque de complexité. décevant pour un 12 ans

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by TheNickPappas from Canada with 2 ratings

Nice texture and bouquet. Tastes great neat, but also good with Coke

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 79 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by nitromicro from Canada with 1 rating

Some Rums are cloyingly sweet, too sweet in my opinion. I love the flavors of a good rum, it can taste like whiskey or bourbon only better (in my opinion). I've gotten older (in my 50s now) and the excessive sweetness of rum has started to bother me.

Flor de Cana 12 has all the flavour, subtle spice and smoothness of good rum without that over the top sweetness. Don't even get me started on Appleton.... ugghhh.

Flor de Cana 12 has flavour, is clean and smooth, great for sipping and mixes well.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

Very solid rum at its price range. On the nose typical smell of sugar cane, caramel and oak. In the mouth very good balance of caramel, honey, nougat, oak and little bit of fruit. Rum is smooth with little bit harsh at the end. Nice suprise.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 28 ratings

Doesn’t hang in your mouth for auch a Long time. But good rum

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 16 ratings

This rum would qualify as a “true” premium rum, but there are a lot of them that are better. I tried this on a recommendation from Total Wine. Got it home and was disappointed. It could not stand side-by-side with my favorite rums.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Yohobro from Canada with 10 ratings

It’s sugar water aged in oak barrels. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great baseline but I would prefer something with more complexity to it. Faint smell of wood before the alcohol takes over. Taste is similar, the woody flavour lingers and lasts through a bit of a bite from the alcohol. Definitely not as sweet as some other rums around this price point ($40 CAD), but it’s great to compare and taste the difference of sweetness for yourself. As far as drinkability, it is solid but perhaps the 18 will deliver a more exciting punch.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

I like mixing and sipping the 18 so I was looking forward to trying this. The nose is a bit sharp and as a sipper there is to much bite. As a mixer it is nice with ginger ale, and citrus cutting the edge. With coke it carries well but prefer the citrus, bringing about the individual tastes in the rum. Overall this is nice but no depth for a mid-prices rum, will not be stocking once I use this up.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 82 ratings

Bit too much of alcohol taste, otherwise pleasant aroma and after taste.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 11 ratings

Rum lacked flavour or complexity. Seemed sharp and acerbic.