Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

7.0/10 (398 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
7
18
81
162
97
22
5

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


398 Flor de Caña 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

A nice aroma and colour in the glass , a little astringent at first but settles down quickly into a very well made rum with just the right amount of sweetness in it. Nice exit with no real burn , enjoyable. Also makes a good mixer.
Would like to try the 18 or 25.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Okey, this rum comes to my market with bold 0 added sugar and "eco" production statements. Cool box, very elegant cork-sealed bottle. So far so good. First taste is shitty, strong alcohol burn, not much else, even though the smell was impressive, but as I give the rum a second and third and subsequent chances, I can taste hints of spices, pepper I guess, some likely natural sweetness and oak, while the rum still packs a nice but this time manageable punch. I am totally willing to sip this, in fact beats plenty of sugar-filled rums! Sadly, I made the mistake of mixing a daiquiri with this, because now I am addicted to it, it is wonderful! Definitely a solid sipper, but an awesome mixing rum!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by deinonychus from Spain with 6 ratings

First time I tried it it was strange taste to something spicy, which was a bit weird. I have tried after and I got a bit used to it, but I prefer other rums for the same price range.

Ffffff

Posted almost 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 53 ratings

This rum is a decent priced rum in Canada, Ont. that is okay straight, and good on the rocks for those that enjoy more of a Cuban-Dominican Rum. If you want more of a sweet South American rum you will be disappointed. Mixing it will be fine.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

Tried FDC 12 years today. Nose only smelled like alcohol. Color is appealing light caramel. Taste is a little woodsy with very little afterburn. Very simple flavor profile. I would drink it if offered to me but would not buy a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 19 ratings

Have read the reviews....you can only use your own judgement ...

Thought I would try as it was on sale ......so, so ..for a 12 year old....my tastes buds wanted more , just a bit more sweetness..like a Eldorado 12.....
Great as a mixer for me ...

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Olivier27 from Canada with 18 ratings

Not as complex as I would expect for a 12 years rum. Honey and roasted notes makes it a good rum for its price. No sugar added. Burns. Not for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by mattrensa (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

On opening has lovely nose, similar to Abuelo 12 and El Dorado 12, also like both of these a semi sweet finish, drank this neat, nice warmth and depth, not as much as El Dorado but still nice, would have preferred a bit longer finish but overall a nice well rounded mid range rum to be enjoyed neat or mixed, well worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 55 ratings

This rum I have changed my mind,now i like him, as time goes, rum of high quality.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Lutz536 from Germany with 9 ratings

Gemeinsam mit dem Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12 Years ist der Flor de Cana 12 Years mein absoluter Favorit - als Schul-Note bekommt er von mir eine 1,1. Also besser geht es fast nicht.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tarek Ronaldo from Chile with 1 rating

I've never been a huge fan of Flor de Caña rums but I got this as a gift, and I'm VERY surprised of HOW good it is. Very soft flavor, not so sweet, with soft woody notes.