Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña Centenario 12-Year rum is distilled in a continuous column still process, then rests for 12 years in small American white oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

Flor de Caña was founded in 1890 by Francisco Alfredo Pellas at the San Antonio Sugar Mill, in Chichigalpa, Nicaragua. The company remains headed by the Pellas family to this day and harvests the molasses and sugarcane used to create their rum from fields adjacent to the distillery in Chichigalpa.

Rate Flor de Cana 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


376 Flor de Cana 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

al probar este ron me doy cuenta de lo grande y serio que se hace ron en nicaragua excelente maridaje con puros cohiba

Posted over 3 years ago by ellebaek from Denmark with 4 ratings

Basic taste without much sweetness and flavour. Tastes like a much cheaper rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by W.D. from Canada with 10 ratings

This is a nice flavoured rum. Very good with coke and ice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ingela from Sweden with 12 ratings

I've got this rum in a gift 2016. Light color. Fresch taste, round taste and not that sweet but very good.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Flor de Caña Centenario 12-Year
Nice rum, smooth taste, fruits, nuts and light spice flavours, caramel, chocolate..
Good choice

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Taking a second go at this bottle last night and I think I overlooked some of the flavors in this rum. This rum dances in you mouth with flavors only to follow with an unexpected slap in the face with a dark explosive finish. The flavors flow through your mouth with a rich vanilla and as this vanilla flavor vanishes you get a burst of these undertones of oak. The finish of the bottle was my favorite part, a strong stiff finish with a lot of complex flavors that I cannot wait to further explore. This rum drank like a well oiled machine and I strongly encourage everyone that disliked this rum to go back and take a second take. I also left my old review below so you can see what I experienced on my first take.

Original Review "Flor de Cana 12 year is golden amber in color. This 12 year rum has undertones of a whisky or bourbon flavor from the barrels the rum was aged in. This 12 year tastes young in the mouth. Flor de Cana has hints of vanilla and sugar, but because this rum was aged in bourbon barrels the flavor is overwhelmed by the taste of the barrel."

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe from Hungary with 6 ratings

Je trouve que ce rhum manque simplement de caractère, rien de marquant au niveau du gout, en effet assez simple pour le prix...

Posted over 3 years ago by Justin from United States with 15 ratings

Nothing too overpowering about this rum. The various notes blend together incredibly well. Just the right amount of bite on the finish.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

This is a good rum. it has a good robust flavor to it. I enjoyed it a lot when i picked it up in Costa Rica.

Posted over 3 years ago by JF Simoneau from Montserrat with 6 ratings

Honnêtement, je ne me rappelle plus des subtilités de ce rhum. Toutefois, je me souviens qu'il est d'une qualité appréciable et qu'il constitue un très bon rapport qualité-prix. Une valeur sûr en somme.

Honestly, I can not remember the subtleties of this rum. However, I recall that it is of good quality and that it is a very good value for money. A safe value in short.

Posted over 3 years ago by John from United States with 1 rating

Very smooth rum. I love the fact that the spice is just right. A little harder to find but definitely a must have.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

For quite some time I was ordering this by the case, disbursing to friends who also enjoyed it. After the 4th case, I sent a message to the distillery as I could not find a local agent. No reply.
A great rum for casual sipping, nice way to introduce friends to a better quality of rum. Stronger flavours, earthy notes with some caramel and dried berries. Could definitely be used in a premium cocktail.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Cisty rum, bez zbytecneho karamelu, je v nem znat zrani v sudech, telo je ploche, nijak nevycniva, nenadchne. Konec harmonicky do stracena, lehce stipe alkohol.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Ive tried to like this bottle for 3 years

Nearly odourless with a solvent like taste, very faint oak

Apparently a true 12yr but I don’t care this is dressed up garbage

Posted over 3 years ago by Marcelo da Fonseca from Mexico with 11 ratings

Nice rum with a fine aroma and finish.
A bit pricey but it is worth it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dominic from Canada with 6 ratings

Flor de Cana 12-YearFlor de Cana 12-YearFlor de Cana 12-Year

Posted over 3 years ago by Cameron from United States with 20 ratings

Lots of alcohol burn in the aroma, oak, and mild vanilla. Tasting reveals more alcohol burn, raisin, and oak. Very dry finish. Even with a splash of water, the alcohol odor and taste was still too pronounced for me to consider this a top pick for a sipping rum. Likely be decent in a cocktail, but there are less expensive alternatives for that purpose to my mind.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andypandy from Norway with 30 ratings

Pretty good sipping rum, though far from my favourite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Richard from Canada with 1 rating

For the price it is a big jump in flavour and smoothness from the 7 year and a great compromise over the 18 year.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ivan from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 8 ratings

Color intenso, olor agradable, madera, sin embargo no encontré poco atractivo su sabor, sin mayor cosas que me llamara la atención para un ron de 12 años. No mesta mal pero esperaba mas

Posted over 3 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

J’ai du mal à noter ce rhum. Il est ni bon ni mauvais mais trop commun, sans personnalité. On note la touche des futs de whiskey ce qui peut le rendre intéressant pour ceux qui n’aiment pas les rhums trop doux et qui cherchent du caractère.

Posted over 3 years ago by Remi from France with 39 ratings

Pas le top non plus mais sympa en digestif. Je préfère le 18 ans

Posted over 3 years ago by Jim from Canada with 10 ratings

A delicious rum with a nice floral essence, very nice in mixed drinks!

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

A very light rum, from the point of taste and also color. I know also the 18-year rum and both not great imho.