Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.7/10
51 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
7
9
12
10
5
3

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

51 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 6 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 224 ratings

Tested just a sample so it’s just a first impression, but I won’t dig deeper into it.
Molasses is used in this Indonesian rum and it’s distilled in pot stills. A special thing is that they are using some red rice in the yeast.
After distillation it’s aged in teak barrels for some years before transported to the Netherlands where it’s transferred to oak barrels.
The final blend consists of spirits aged 8 months, 3, 5 and 8 years, and bottled at 48% ABV.
From nose via palate to the finish, which is medium long mostly depending on on the alcohol content, I can recognize fruits, bananas and some notes of spices and arrack. I was expecting a lot more flavor of arrack.
Overall I think that everything is much too weak to catch my interest.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

I was kind of excited to try this rum do to its fancy packaging, its aging, and its relatively high price of over $50. But this rum really disappointed me.

Smells and tastes of rubber, sugarcane, oak, brine, grassy funk and leather. This rum is way too dry for my liking. But ignoring the dryness, it just tastes odd. The rice sounded interesting, but maybe that's what doesn't work here. A bit strong for the flavor as I only like strong rums when they're really good.

I'd rate this below the Bacardi & Captain Morgan rums, the Pusser's British Navy rums, and the St George California Rhums, none of which I particularly like. Other reviewers seem to agree with me. I typically rate rums about a point below their consensus rating, but this one is two points below - I think it's overrated a bit due to the high price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Teemuh from Finland with 24 ratings

aroma: hint of smokiness, grainy (maybe the rice?)
Taste: woody, oak, spice, dry with a tiny bit of sweetness

Somehow reminds me of scotch. Not my type of thing.
I think it would taste better unaged. Aging in a oak cask for so long hides its potential for me.

Going to try it in a punch recipe. Maybe that's where this shines.

To sum up:

+Unique aroma and flavor
+Nice bottle
-Pricy
-Too oaky

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Marijke from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Na de scherpe Plantation is deze een stuk zachter. Wel zuinig geschonken, als eerste rum van de avond zal hij misschien wat heftig zijn. Gezellige spelletjesavond weer!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 86 ratings

Being from the Netherlands arrack (or arak overhere) is not a strange phenomenon; every well stocked liquer store will have a few bottles. I had different bottles in the past without knowing it was part of rums; I thought it stood on its own. Knowing better now I couldn't resist to give it one more go.

On the nose it really stands apart from other rums as there is hardly any fudge or vanilla there. Spices (ginger, cloves), fermented rice (it reminds a bit of sake), sweet flowers and passion fruit come to mind. On the palate it is remarkable mellow despite it has an ABV of 48%. The fermented rice becomes more prominent while the sweet flowers and fruit change a bit towards oranges with cloves. It has a lot of flavour but remains rather light and crisp at the same time. It is in between a sipper and a shot with a prolonged aftertaste of salty grasses.

Interesting and pleasant change of flavours compared to the average rum (as such a rum even excists) and while this will not become my daily glass it is definitely worth to give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Mastamt from Netherlands with 24 ratings

Krachtige kruidige rum met een sterke afronk. Sterke geur en sterke krachtige smaak.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 376 ratings

- vůně květiny a med, částečně připomíná agricole
- chuť zpočátku jemná, nastupuje voltáž 48%, hořkost, květiny a med, závěr hořký, dochuť částečně agricole.
Panák, max dva bych zvládl, ale nákup láhve v žádném případě a to agricole mám rád