Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.6/10 (45 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
7
9
10
7
4
3

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 214 ratings

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

First, I must admit I am not very experienced with arracks, so before I state “typical arrack” I must admit I would not know what I am comparing with.

Nose: Classic smell of aged molasses rum, with a touch more grass and herb, and a sweet smell you could be fooled into associating with spontaneous fermentation.

But on the palate it is very distinct, with subdued funk, and reveals the effect of the addition of rice in complex, pleasant notes of fresh yeast- a bit like boiling, red rice from Thailand but elegant and discrete.

The aftertaste is absolutely not bad for youngish rum. A clear 8, it feels easily like having the sophistication and wisdom of far older rums, yet the little rebellious je-me-sais-quoi from the rice component is certainly present.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 39 ratings

Sally jak być shabby uścisk on tak bardzo shabby od shabby

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by PatrickW from Belgium with 9 ratings

Light yellow color , high alcohol, sweet aroma and taste

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 53 ratings

With a proofing of 48% you feel it with the first whiff and confirmed with the taste. It’s disappointing where a distiller goes for a alcohol over flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

Color: pale yellow. Texture: lightly syrupy. Taste: strong herbal, almost acidic attack - I agree with most comments that taste of alcohol is also too present. Aftertaste of vanilla much more pleasant, but too soft (and too late!). Not really what I am looking for with a rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Ostrejší rum,ktory má veľmi bledú farbu. Som vďačný,že som mohol ochutnať Indonézsky rum z ostrova Java. Bol ostrejší s vyšším obsahom alkoholu 48%. Nebol harmonicky,vyvážený a to mi na ňom vadilo

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

The alcohol hit is quite strong and kills most flavors. I was able to distinguish fruit and rice in nose. In mouth, I tasted a gassy and earthy flavor with some rice. I wonder if this rum could improve in an older version...