Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.7/10
50 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
7
9
11
10
5
3

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

50 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Dank seiner 48% sehr intensiv
Duftet fein nach warmen Kräutern mit etwas Vanille und leichter Esthernote.
Im Mund dann kräftig würzig und auf der Zunge dezent süss mit Fruchtigen Anklängen.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Tested just a sample so it’s just a first impression, but I won’t dig deeper into it.
Molasses is used in this Indonesian rum and it’s distilled in pot stills. A special thing is that they are using some red rice in the yeast.
After distillation it’s aged in teak barrels for some years before transported to the Netherlands where it’s transferred to oak barrels.
The final blend consists of spirits aged 8 months, 3, 5 and 8 years, and bottled at 48% ABV.
From nose via palate to the finish, which is medium long mostly depending on on the alcohol content, I can recognize fruits, bananas and some notes of spices and arrack. I was expecting a lot more flavor of arrack.
Overall I think that everything is much too weak to catch my interest.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Marijke from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Na de scherpe Plantation is deze een stuk zachter. Wel zuinig geschonken, als eerste rum van de avond zal hij misschien wat heftig zijn. Gezellige spelletjesavond weer!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 80 ratings

Being from the Netherlands arrack (or arak overhere) is not a strange phenomenon; every well stocked liquer store will have a few bottles. I had different bottles in the past without knowing it was part of rums; I thought it stood on its own. Knowing better now I couldn't resist to give it one more go.

On the nose it really stands apart from other rums as there is hardly any fudge or vanilla there. Spices (ginger, cloves), fermented rice (it reminds a bit of sake), sweet flowers and passion fruit come to mind. On the palate it is remarkable mellow despite it has an ABV of 48%. The fermented rice becomes more prominent while the sweet flowers and fruit change a bit towards oranges with cloves. It has a lot of flavour but remains rather light and crisp at the same time. It is in between a sipper and a shot with a prolonged aftertaste of salty grasses.

Interesting and pleasant change of flavours compared to the average rum (as such a rum even excists) and while this will not become my daily glass it is definitely worth to give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Mastamt from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Krachtige kruidige rum met een sterke afronk. Sterke geur en sterke krachtige smaak.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

- vůně květiny a med, částečně připomíná agricole
- chuť zpočátku jemná, nastupuje voltáž 48%, hořkost, květiny a med, závěr hořký, dochuť částečně agricole.
Panák, max dva bych zvládl, ale nákup láhve v žádném případě a to agricole mám rád

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

First, I must admit I am not very experienced with arracks, so before I state “typical arrack” I must admit I would not know what I am comparing with.

Nose: Classic smell of aged molasses rum, with a touch more grass and herb, and a sweet smell you could be fooled into associating with spontaneous fermentation.

But on the palate it is very distinct, with subdued funk, and reveals the effect of the addition of rice in complex, pleasant notes of fresh yeast- a bit like boiling, red rice from Thailand but elegant and discrete.

The aftertaste is absolutely not bad for youngish rum. A clear 8, it feels easily like having the sophistication and wisdom of far older rums, yet the little rebellious je-me-sais-quoi from the rice component is certainly present.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 40 ratings

Sally jak być shabby uścisk on tak bardzo shabby od shabby