Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Arrack is special kind of rum from Southeast Asia, where rice and other assorted rice are added to the fermentation process. It gives the drink a special taste, that is sure to device rum lovers.

Nose: Aromas of soil and greens with a small hint of suger cane
Taste: Very dry and clean taste of bark and pepper. A long medicinal aftertaste
Overall: I am not that well-traveled, when it comes to arrack, but if this is the benchmark for the style, then it might be something that I personally would stay away from.

34b2952841d2cc3da388326806e91a40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 209 ratings

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

45761c5b3f7b1e2d55c69c63439fb7d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

2cfa456c0ac2666124f76da5376a6a26.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Bab88dcca4c074a333221abaeec7b9b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

With a proofing of 48% you feel it with the first whiff and confirmed with the taste. It’s disappointing where a distiller goes for a alcohol over flavor.

5cb595c9017e79aec1d46bdb80735606.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

Color: pale yellow. Texture: lightly syrupy. Taste: strong herbal, almost acidic attack - I agree with most comments that taste of alcohol is also too present. Aftertaste of vanilla much more pleasant, but too soft (and too late!). Not really what I am looking for with a rum.

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Ostrejší rum,ktory má veľmi bledú farbu. Som vďačný,že som mohol ochutnať Indonézsky rum z ostrova Java. Bol ostrejší s vyšším obsahom alkoholu 48%. Nebol harmonicky,vyvážený a to mi na ňom vadilo

8b61f1fa20de202fcddc7ca80e516bb9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

The alcohol hit is quite strong and kills most flavors. I was able to distinguish fruit and rice in nose. In mouth, I tasted a gassy and earthy flavor with some rice. I wonder if this rum could improve in an older version...

603bfe3a3c089d510413517f4cbed8d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Paul from France with 6 ratings

On sent beaucoup l'alcool mais le goût n'est pas très puissant. Trop leger

B4cc5e41ba704de7fd87c6689700fa20.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

Woody and alcoholic notes. Fruity and floral... and something ubable to be described (grapefruitish?). Interesting, surprising on one hand but not too tasty on the other. Worth to try but not to rebuy.

8602a3766cdeccb85584013051b78c5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Had a nice fruity smell.But didn't Like the taste that much. Wood and somthing that i cannot describe