Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Earthen notes like malt whiskey in aroma.
Smoky character with fruity background reminding agricole.

Posted over 2 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

Posted 5 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

With a proofing of 48% you feel it with the first whiff and confirmed with the taste. It’s disappointing where a distiller goes for a alcohol over flavor.

Posted 5 months ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

Color: pale yellow. Texture: lightly syrupy. Taste: strong herbal, almost acidic attack - I agree with most comments that taste of alcohol is also too present. Aftertaste of vanilla much more pleasant, but too soft (and too late!). Not really what I am looking for with a rum.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Ostrejší rum,ktory má veľmi bledú farbu. Som vďačný,že som mohol ochutnať Indonézsky rum z ostrova Java. Bol ostrejší s vyšším obsahom alkoholu 48%. Nebol harmonicky,vyvážený a to mi na ňom vadilo

Posted 5 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

The alcohol hit is quite strong and kills most flavors. I was able to distinguish fruit and rice in nose. In mouth, I tasted a gassy and earthy flavor with some rice. I wonder if this rum could improve in an older version...

Posted 6 months ago by Paul from France with 6 ratings

On sent beaucoup l'alcool mais le goût n'est pas très puissant. Trop leger

Posted 6 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

Woody and alcoholic notes. Fruity and floral... and something ubable to be described (grapefruitish?). Interesting, surprising on one hand but not too tasty on the other. Worth to try but not to rebuy.

Posted 6 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Had a nice fruity smell.But didn't Like the taste that much. Wood and somthing that i cannot describe

Posted 6 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

I was not expecting to much from this one so my disappointment was not that big. It smells like agricole rum and taste is with flavours of rice?!, wood, grass and some vanilla.

Posted 6 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is my first taste of a rum that adds rice during the fermentation process so I'm kinda left for a loss for words on how best to describe it but I'll give it my best shot. The nose is very strong notes of grass and something that resembles herb tea. The first taste is one of very high alcohol. Because sugarcane is used this possible be used as a mixture for a substitute of Rhum but I'm not sure I would want to go that route. Unfortunately I'm left underwhelmed.

Posted 6 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Too hot to be a neat sipper, a bitter after taste, grass notes combined with floral honey.

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Dank seiner 48% sehr intensiv
Duftet fein nach warmen Kräutern mit etwas Vanille und leichter Esthernote.
Im Mund dann kräftig würzig und auf der Zunge dezent süss mit Fruchtigen Anklängen.

Posted 7 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Více alkoholu než bývá u rumu obvyklé a na chuti se to projeví. Ochutnáním nic nezkazíte, na nákup lahve to ale nevidím.

Posted 7 months ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Not one of my favourites, very strong to the nose and palate even with coke and ice

Posted over 1 year ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

Entry is dry and it gets earthy and mushroom like.

Posted over 1 year ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

20ml uit een advent kalender. Bij het maken van Arak wordt rode rijst gebruikt bij het fermenteren. Levert in ieder geval een pittige rum op, kruidig, pepermunt, alcohol proef je wel (48%)
Wel lekker eigenlijk.

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

A little smokey on the nose with fresh cut lemongrass. I’ve encountered this character before from other indonesian rum. It’s a little dry and floral on the palate with black pepper and citrus. Decently balanced with a peppery finish. Though it's not paticularly rounded or complex it will do in a pinch.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Arrack is special kind of rum from Southeast Asia, where rice and other assorted rice are added to the fermentation process. It gives the drink a special taste, that is sure to device rum lovers.

Nose: Aromas of soil and greens with a small hint of suger cane
Taste: Very dry and clean taste of bark and pepper. A long medicinal aftertaste
Overall: I am not that well-traveled, when it comes to arrack, but if this is the benchmark for the style, then it might be something that I personally would stay away from.

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I was kind of excited to try this rum do to its fancy packaging, its aging, and its relatively high price of over $50. But this rum really disappointed me.

Smells and tastes of rubber, sugarcane, oak, brine, grassy funk and leather. This rum is way too dry for my liking. But ignoring the dryness, it just tastes odd. The rice sounded interesting, but maybe that's what doesn't work here. A bit strong for the flavor as I only like strong rums when they're really good.

I'd rate this below the Bacardi & Captain Morgan rums, the Pusser's British Navy rums, and the St George California Rhums, none of which I particularly like. Other reviewers seem to agree with me. I typically rate rums about a point below their consensus rating, but this one is two points below - I think it's overrated a bit due to the high price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Colour is light.
Smell not ok.
Taste is not ok.
Aftertaste is bad.
;-)

Posted about 2 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

En rom som virker alt for skarp i mundhulen, der er intet blød og fint over den.
Ikke en rom jeg vil købe igen.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Helles Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase, ganz speziell anders, erdig nach Wurzeln und nassem Laub durchmischt mit etwas Frucht und Klebstoff.
Im Gaumen sehr elegant und würzig, weisser Pfeffer auf Lebkuchen, Orangen mit Nelken gespickt, schönes angenehmes Mundgefühl.
Im Abgang dezent süss mit Beeren und etwas Salz.
In einer Blindverkostung nicht als Rum zu erkennen aber eine schöne Abwechslung in der Rumlandschaft.
Für Geniesser und Entdecker.

Bright honey yellow in the glass.
In the nose, especially different, earthy mixed with roots and wet leaves with some fruit and glue.
Very elegant and spicy on the palate, white pepper on gingerbread, oranges peppered with cloves, nice and pleasant mouthfeel.
In the finish discreetly sweet with berries and a little salt.
In a blind tasting not to recognize as rum but a nice change in the rum landscape.
For connoisseurs and explorers.