Posting your rating...
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.6/10 (43 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
6
9
10
7
4
2

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


43 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Lucka 13 i romkalendern 2017, betyget sammanfattar allt.

8602a3766cdeccb85584013051b78c5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Had a nice fruity smell.But didn't Like the taste that much. Wood and somthing that i cannot describe

28838fa6968c0b60a29fc5a078ec6834.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 128 ratings

I was not expecting to much from this one so my disappointment was not that big. It smells like agricole rum and taste is with flavours of rice?!, wood, grass and some vanilla.

5ee808222d5e82f74944814fc7ba2b35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is my first taste of a rum that adds rice during the fermentation process so I'm kinda left for a loss for words on how best to describe it but I'll give it my best shot. The nose is very strong notes of grass and something that resembles herb tea. The first taste is one of very high alcohol. Because sugarcane is used this possible be used as a mixture for a substitute of Rhum but I'm not sure I would want to go that route. Unfortunately I'm left underwhelmed.

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Too hot to be a neat sipper, a bitter after taste, grass notes combined with floral honey.

02ce1476a9862e78e4ba9178f996d437.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 92 ratings

Dank seiner 48% sehr intensiv
Duftet fein nach warmen Kräutern mit etwas Vanille und leichter Esthernote.
Im Mund dann kräftig würzig und auf der Zunge dezent süss mit Fruchtigen Anklängen.

B72fbba3f8bf5eb8a60da3122bfc1204.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Více alkoholu než bývá u rumu obvyklé a na chuti se to projeví. Ochutnáním nic nezkazíte, na nákup lahve to ale nevidím.

5da13b5bf03e6413a14a00b1027be4d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Not one of my favourites, very strong to the nose and palate even with coke and ice

D40ccfd518a956d9fcfef17b2d4d9bdf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

Entry is dry and it gets earthy and mushroom like.

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

20ml uit een advent kalender. Bij het maken van Arak wordt rode rijst gebruikt bij het fermenteren. Levert in ieder geval een pittige rum op, kruidig, pepermunt, alcohol proef je wel (48%)
Wel lekker eigenlijk.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 234 ratings

A little smokey on the nose with fresh cut lemongrass. I’ve encountered this character before from other indonesian rum. It’s a little dry and floral on the palate with black pepper and citrus. Decently balanced with a peppery finish. Though it's not paticularly rounded or complex it will do in a pinch.