Posting your rating...
Opthimus XO rum

Opthimus XO

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.4/10 (15 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
4
1
5

Rate Opthimus XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Opthimus XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is my favorite Opthimus to date. Kind of similar to the 25 year, but with more oak and spice. Also has a nice hint of whisky, which is not overpowering. Very nicely sweet.

Has a sweet honey nose, with caramel, oak, spice, and whisky.

Easy drinking at only 38%abv. A GREAT rum!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A bit of sticky alcohol in the beginning but after a while you can smell nice sweet aromas of toffee and vanilla. You also get some almond and oak.

In mouth you can taste fruit, spice and oak. Too much oak for my taste. The aftertaste is long with lot´s of oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Lecker Rum- auf Oliver und Oliver ist Verlass. Süß und lecker!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 54 ratings

Great for whisky drinkers with notes of chocolate, toffee, dried fruit, tropical fruit, and spices.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

it's realy the best of all Opthimus-Rums and the Best i ever had !!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

opthimus xo es el que tengo
color caoba oscura en nariz aroma de madera, frutas y especias,vainilla y algo de presencia de nuez moscada.
boca ligero dulzón tabaco,cuero,nuez muy persistente en una palabra increible

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Poured down the hatch the entire bottle of Opthimus XO while in Santo Domingo. This is a whisky lovers rum. If you are a whisky fanboy, add 2 points to the score. To me, there's too much oakiness to the nose and to the palate. Very nice aged dark rum flavors are unfortunately masked behind the overpowering oak. Nice standard Opthimus styled bottle design with a numbering. Very dark mahogany color, almost reddish. Mild afterburn, but even oakiness at that stage.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Aroma is beautiful, sweet and oaky. Molasses and vanilla stand out. Tastes smooth and warm. There is plenty of oak but I like that. Tried it with and without a chunk of ice. Great either way. This is a generous 9 but it's way too good for an 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jan Kristensen from Denmark with 1 rating

This very smooth and drinkable rum cost me the fortune of 50 USD... a true bargain which I shared with my brother-in-law in a hottub overlooking the Atlantic from the rth coast of the DR. It is slightly sweet, wit vanilla and oak as it's main flavours. Absolutely no burn.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Mellow and round, with pleasant sweetness and rich fruit