Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year rum

Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43.0% ABV

6.6/10
98 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
16
27
32
14
5
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

98 Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Verner Canatsey from United States with 15 ratings

Smooth, great sipping Rum.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 9 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

Not one of my go to rums but I would drink it again if it was on a great sale. Decent rum for range but prefer Mt Gay.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 11 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 188 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by cmcalpine (PREMIUM) from Canada with 7 ratings

Feels like there is an elitist assumption that it can’t be good because it’s Appleton. Or maybe the new branding and new vintage have ushered in a new era. But this is an excellent rum, especially for under $35 CAD, imho.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Tad Generic from Canada with 24 ratings

I tried this alongside of the Bacardi 8. Both have that hint of molasses that I like, but this one is more spicy or peppery - it has some burn. It certainly has more character than their basic offering.

Would buy again.

Edit - Bumping this up to 9 to match the current 12 year rare casks offering, as to me they are almost identical. This is a better deal, however, and is looking to become my goto for sipping rum.

I guess I like the Funky Stuff

Edit - Hell with it - this one's my personal "10" for enjoyment/value

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Djmillard (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 24 ratings

A fairly flat nose to this rum. Light oak and fruit, but really quite nondescript. This follows in the taste itself. It is easy to drink, even neat, and moderately sweet, but without a lot of character.

One of the woodiest rums I've experienced, adding water or ice just waters this down rather than opening it up. This has a pleasant flavor, but little more than that. It tastes like it was aged enough to smooth it out, but not long enough to develop much flavor.

Small inigo

Posted 8 months ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 30 ratings

I rate this the same as the 12 Year Rare Casks but the two are different and have different strengths. Whereas the 12 is excellent on its own or in a simple cocktail (think Rum Old Fashioned), Appleton 8 Year is one of the most versatile rums around. It's awesome in Mai Tai, in a Rum Manhattan, a Rum Old Fashioned, a Jungle Bird and even works well neat or on the rocks. Appleton 8 has a little less oak influence (spice, tobacco) than the 12 but a bit more mango and banana. Bonus, it's affordable so you should never be without it on your bar.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

This is a good standby rum.
It’s not spectacular but it is not dreck.
Jamaica knows how to make rum.
Available everywhere.
However, worth dropping the extra $ for the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Supreme from Canada with 37 ratings

Island flavour! Drank a lot of this one in particular while visiting Jamaica !

Small stl177468

Posted 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 76 ratings

Appletons have that strange distinctive odour. Hard to smell anything beside that. The taste is alcoholic fiery, dry but sweet anyhow. There is also afterburn, but decent one. For 8 yrs, it should be better rounded and mellowed, more refined. 8 years or not, this one has qualities to be rather mixer than sipper. Altrough I very liek 12yrs and V/X Appletons, this one is little bit of dissapoitment for sipping. So better mix it up or mellow it down with ice/water.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Adam from Poland with 97 ratings

like in title....not bad...but definetly nothing special.