Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year rum

Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged

6.5/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
17
24
30
13
5

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by James from Greece with 11 ratings

Dark Colour, very strong spicy taste, very strong aroma. A Rum that demands your attention !!

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 8 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Not one of my go to rums but I would drink it again if it was on a great sale. Decent rum for range but prefer Mt Gay.

Small inigo

Posted 5 months ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 30 ratings

I rate this the same as the 12 Year Rare Casks but the two are different and have different strengths. Whereas the 12 is excellent on its own or in a simple cocktail (think Rum Old Fashioned), Appleton 8 Year is one of the most versatile rums around. It's awesome in Mai Tai, in a Rum Manhattan, a Rum Old Fashioned, a Jungle Bird and even works well neat or on the rocks. Appleton 8 has a little less oak influence (spice, tobacco) than the 12 but a bit more mango and banana. Bonus, it's affordable so you should never be without it on your bar.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

This is a good standby rum.
It’s not spectacular but it is not dreck.
Jamaica knows how to make rum.
Available everywhere.
However, worth dropping the extra $ for the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Supreme from Canada with 37 ratings

Island flavour! Drank a lot of this one in particular while visiting Jamaica !

Small stl177468

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

Appletons have that strange distinctive odour. Hard to smell anything beside that. The taste is alcoholic fiery, dry but sweet anyhow. There is also afterburn, but decent one. For 8 yrs, it should be better rounded and mellowed, more refined. 8 years or not, this one has qualities to be rather mixer than sipper. Altrough I very liek 12yrs and V/X Appletons, this one is little bit of dissapoitment for sipping. So better mix it up or mellow it down with ice/water.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam from Poland with 94 ratings

like in title....not bad...but definetly nothing special.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Just not quite good enough for sipping in my humble opinion.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 12 days ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 158 ratings

Prijemny, jemna drevitost, sladší, chutná všem. Pomer cena / kvalita je úplně úžasná.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 129 ratings

On the nose I can smell banana, coconut, caramel, wood and elderberry flower. The taste profile is smooth, it has strong Jamaica sweet overripe banana profile, with undertones of white oak and leather, it ends in a spicy, slightly bitter aftertaste, all pleasant. I noticed the change of the label to a simple one, with just big eight instead of the picture, not sure if I am rating the same stuff as my predecessors here. Overall, I am very pleased with this rum, it is recognizably Jamaica, but not over the top, well made, without additives, which I like a lot. For some reason I can can get it only for the same price as Appleton 12y, which does not make much sense to me.