Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year rum

Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged

6.4/10 (82 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
17
20
27
10
5

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

82 Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Another good mixing rum but the 12 yo is a much better choice.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 3 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 181 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Small inigo

Posted 10 days ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 11 ratings

I rate this the same as the 12 Year Rare Casks but the two are different and have different strengths. Whereas the 12 is excellent on its own or in a simple cocktail (think Rum Old Fashioned), Appleton 8 Year is one of the most versatile rums around. It's awesome in Mai Tai, in a Rum Manhattan, a Rum Old Fashioned, a Jungle Bird and even works well neat or on the rocks. Appleton 8 has a little less oak influence (spice, tobacco) than the 12 but a bit more mango and banana. Bonus, it's affordable so you should never be without it on your bar.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 26 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

Not one of my go to rums but I would drink it again if it was on a great sale. Decent rum for range but prefer Mt Gay.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

This is a good standby rum.
It’s not spectacular but it is not dreck.
Jamaica knows how to make rum.
Available everywhere.
However, worth dropping the extra $ for the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Supreme from Canada with 35 ratings

Island flavour! Drank a lot of this one in particular while visiting Jamaica !

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

Appletons have that strange distinctive odour. Hard to smell anything beside that. The taste is alcoholic fiery, dry but sweet anyhow. There is also afterburn, but decent one. For 8 yrs, it should be better rounded and mellowed, more refined. 8 years or not, this one has qualities to be rather mixer than sipper. Altrough I very liek 12yrs and V/X Appletons, this one is little bit of dissapoitment for sipping. So better mix it up or mellow it down with ice/water.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

like in title....not bad...but definetly nothing special.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Just not quite good enough for sipping in my humble opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Carbon from Denmark with 17 ratings

The nose is really rather like that of a Spanish style - toffee, dried dark fruits (plum) and a hint of vanilla and coconut. The taste does show some Jamaican character though, with a hint of funk to go a long with the rather thin and otherwise sweet, mellow notes. Not bad, but a similar thing is better done by the Havana 7 years in my opinion. Unless you come from whisky and desire that pot still burn and funk, that is.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Leo K from Canada with 56 ratings

Not enjoyable straight up, but not offensive. Better choices in the 7 & 8 year blends