Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 8-Year rum

Rate Appleton Estate 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


69 Appleton Estate 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

It beats all the "Anejos" on the market to death... I like this one with coke but it can be sipped neat, on the rocks, or in a mixed drink. The aged flavors push right through and the smell is hypnotizing.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Appletons have that strange distinctive odour. Hard to smell anything beside that. The taste is alcoholic fiery, dry but sweet anyhow. There is also afterburn, but decent one. For 8 yrs, it should be better rounded and mellowed, more refined. 8 years or not, this one has qualities to be rather mixer than sipper. Altrough I very liek 12yrs and V/X Appletons, this one is little bit of dissapoitment for sipping. So better mix it up or mellow it down with ice/water.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

like in title....not bad...but definetly nothing special.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Just not quite good enough for sipping in my humble opinion.

Posted 9 days ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

This is my second bottle, first was Rare Blend 12, and I like it a lot. Maybe not that exotic or mature taste, but it is smooth, delicious and easy to drink.
In side by side comparison with Diplomatico Kettle Batch I prefer Appleton.

Posted 5 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Ron promedio , muy bueno para cocktail, color y aromas respetables.

Posted 10 months ago by rumdumb from Canada with 8 ratings

This taste more like rum than most any rum, very bold. A bit harsh on it's own.

Posted about 1 year ago by Bob 56 from New Zealand with 2 ratings

So, it's my go to rum after a good day it's like a topping of delight on a fun day, magic.

Posted about 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

Overall not a bad rum. This one I find balances right on the fence of a “with cola” and “straight up” although it boasts more flavor than your original Appleton’s, I find it ever so lacking the next level of flavor and smoothness I need to sip a rum straight up. Then again, straight from Jamaica as a gift, only it’s empty bottle remains...

Posted over 1 year ago by flo_rca from France with 3 ratings

Le nez de ce rhum est très léger. Au gout, également. On note néanmoins la présence de vanille et un gout boisé. Malheureusement, les arômes sont trop effacés et le coté sec prend un peu trop le pas. Le final est néanmoins agréable.

Il s'agit d'un rhum d'entrée de gamme correct mais qui n'est pas au niveau de ses concurrents (Barcelo, Diplomatico reserva).

Taste vanilla and wood but taste too slight. Nice finish however.

Posted over 1 year ago by Szymon from Israel with 6 ratings

The 8 Year reserve used to be an affordable choice of quality, an entry level step into the realm of more serious sipping rums. it also used to be my first Appleton experience and i found it to be quite interesting and unique, from the strange aroma which is different to other rums, to the pleasant and not harsh sipping experience. sadly until it really grew up on me it was discontinued and replaced by different and non age stated blend.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had a few drinks of Appleton Estate 8y while vacationing in Mexico. Bottle and label design are like any other Appleton Estate franchise. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks.

Posted over 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Jamaican funk, a touch hot, but ok as a sipper.
shines is cocktails.

Posted over 2 years ago by Trevor from Canada with 10 ratings

For an aged rum it doesn't show it, drinkable in a pinch but outclassed by lesser offerings which is a sacrilege and offense on the consumer.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron que decepciona al parecer mas joven de lo que es.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Not my favorite but still pretty good rum for god price

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank from United States with 18 ratings

Not my kind of sipper..but a well rounded rum and good mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dante De Rubin from Mexico with 42 ratings

Its a good product, the people drink it with Apple Soda. Its too sweet!

Posted almost 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

I first came across the standard 8y Appleton Estate about 12 years ago. I thought it was fabulous. Now however I find the malasses flavor too sweet, even when mixing it with Canada Dry.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Nothing special, but a solid rum for mixing with a decent taste. Not good enough to drink straight in my opinion.

Posted about 3 years ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Trochu moc ostrý.
Určitě se vyplatí trochu připlatit a sáhnout po 12-ti letem bráchovi...

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike Flaherty from Ireland with 6 ratings

Fairly standard Jamaican rum, bought this on holiday and enjoy mixing it with coke, a bit too burny to sip

Posted over 3 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

I have the same critic as Shane Hadley ............

Posted over 3 years ago by Doctotor from France with 9 ratings

Nez plutôt fin.
Bouche initiale forte en alcool. Finale boisée plutôt agréable !
Peu de sucre et de vanille

Posted over 3 years ago by Stuart McGregor from Canada with 10 ratings

A go to rum for me. Adds more smooth taste than the V/X, and has the great Appletons taste.