Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana Anejo Clasico 5-Year rum

Rate Flor de Cana Anejo Clasico 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


48 Flor de Cana Anejo Clasico 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

Not a sipping rum. Will have to use mix to enjoy this rum. This is one of the worst rums I have tried.

Posted about 6 years ago by terry simpson from United States with 4 ratings

A friend bought me a bottle from Niccaragua when she was on vacation and the best rum i ever drank

Posted over 1 year ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

It's alright but for 15 quid wasn't expecting much but it's sound with a mixer I'll probably have it again

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I forgot all about this one made by Flor de Cana until I saw it on the shelf next the 7 year and 12 year old. For only $21, I considered it worth the try, but have not had much luck with their 4 year Oro Anejo or their 18 year. Their 7 year is still my favorite up to this point, so I compared this one, the 7 year, and 12 year side by side in Glencairn glasses. All three were allowed to breathe for 30 minutes.

This one is clearly the palest in color between all three, almost like a light orange and yellow. As for the darker colors on the other two, I could not tell them apart. The breathing allowed the aroma to all but dissipate on all three. The taste on this one is quite smooth with natural sweetness. The after taste is wonderful oak that reminds me of Don Q 2005 Single Barrel. Comparing this one to their 7 year made me place this one even better than my old favorite from them. This one is smoother by far. I am glad that I came across it today!

Posted over 1 year ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Hey let’s be honest if you love sipping rum this one might not make your short list but this entry level rum from the Flor De Cana group hits it out of the park for being an honest low budget smooth rum easy mixed without crying and great taste to boot
I could drink this one all day just like I like it 1 shot rum 2 shots coke 2 shots water with 2-3 cubes
Two thumbs up 👍

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Bit too much of a burn to this but perfectly good in a mixer.

Posted about 3 years ago by Scott from Canada with 3 ratings

This is a perfect "get me through the week" rum. Very nice over lots of ice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

A bit dry with a warm, semi-sweet vanilla finish. Caramelized sugar and wood flavors play on the palate. Ends up being a great mixing rum, as dry styles tend to be the best when it comes to mixing with fruits (that, and overproof white rums).

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Este ron de 5 años de añejamiento, es bueno para tomarse con Coca-Cola, tiene gran sabor a madera y para disfrutar un momento con los amigos. Garantiza dolor de cabeza

Posted almost 4 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

Taste is ok, the 7yo is a lot better, so buy that one in stead. Paid €15,- for 70cl.
Gives me a headache before I can finish my drink... 3/10

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jakotech from Norway with 43 ratings

This is a cheap rum but it's fairly good. You can sip it with some ice. But add coke and you'll have a nice drink.

Posted about 4 years ago by Paul from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

A pleasant rum best served with a mixer, in my case, Fever Tree ginger beer. It is drinkable as a sipping rum, not being too fiery and a lot better than the supermarket favourites.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Decent bottle of rum. Semi smooth but with a bit of sour after notes. Better in cola, and surprisingly enough, gets better as the night wears on. Not something I reach for to impress someone, but fills the need in a pinch.

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

Some buttery sweetness and mild vanilla tones are present but on its own this is just not something I'd enjoy straight-up, myself, but mixed with Sprite or 7-Up, and some OJ, pineapple juice or 5-Alive, and yup, I'm on-board. ( I wouldn't turn it away! )

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

One of my favorite brands. Nothing wrong with this one, but I like the older ones better as they have more taste

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Inoffensive is the immediate description that comes to mind.

Light/medium bodied with a caramel notes and a touch of sweetness. Accompanied by a nice bite of alcohol. Nothing particularly great about this one, but certainly nothing obviously wrong with it save for maybe a bit spirity and lacking in weight of fruit.

Overall quite smooth, helped by the sweetness that is ever present, despite the slight alcohol attack, which to me adds a bit of character. I had to check the alcohol content - it's 40% but drinks like a 37.5%.

Problem is though, that as an everyday rum, the cheaper Chairman's Reserve makes this look really very ordinary.

Posted 4 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

This is where the FdC rums begin their polishing for the palate, the 5 year gets a good dose of benefits from aging in the barrel a year more than their filtered lights. That classic Spanish style flavor is present, a touch sweet and woody, and the body is significantly more substantial as a result. It’s still in that in between zone, where it’s better mixed than sipped, but it fully qualifies for cocktails requiring an aged Spanish rum that won’t break the bank. With a little ice, it’s an ok sipper, but the 7 year feels like the real sweet spot, neat or on the rocks.

Posted 5 months ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Not a bad one in my opinion. Smooth. Not very outspoken, but enjoyable. Light. Easy to sip. Some tones of sweet spices. Apparently my taste differs from the crowd. This was no bad buy at all.

Posted 5 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Another always on offer at Tescos.
Good for the price if you're not a rum snob like me but likes a nice rum.

Posted 6 months ago by Fraser Campbell Sr from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

This rum was pleasant to mix with cola or ginger beer but I didn't enjoy drinking it on its own. I would buy it again to mix with but would look for a different rum to enjoy straight from the bottle.

Posted 7 months ago by jbuk101 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

This didn't work as a sipper but is a fine rum as a mixer. I recommend, as some others have, - Fever Tree Ginger Beer. Job done.

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

Straight up it is harsh and even so with ice. For mixing it is fine.

Posted 9 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Of course, FDC 12 is better thank this 5 year. However, this has almost same aroma and taste, a little thin. Not bad.

Posted 11 months ago by UniDrinker from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Behind all the fruity/vanilla etc notes I can detect a delicate rancid smell.
This might not be noticeable to drinkers that don't drink this rum neat but believe me this is a low grade rum which I will sadly never invest in again. It is a real shame as it reflects badly on rums de Nicaragua. Sorry but true as far as my delicate taste buds are concerned.