Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Añejo Clásico 5-Year rum

Flor de Caña Añejo Clásico 5-Year

Nicaragua | Gold

A sugar-free 5-year old premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A medium-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed with tropical fruit juices or sodas.

5.3/10 (57 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
5
13
21
8
2

Rate Flor de Caña Añejo Clásico 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


57 Flor de Caña Añejo Clásico 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by UniDrinker from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Behind all the fruity/vanilla etc notes I can detect a delicate rancid smell.
This might not be noticeable to drinkers that don't drink this rum neat but believe me this is a low grade rum which I will sadly never invest in again. It is a real shame as it reflects badly on rums de Nicaragua. Sorry but true as far as my delicate taste buds are concerned.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jakotech from Norway with 43 ratings

This is a cheap rum but it's fairly good. You can sip it with some ice. But add coke and you'll have a nice drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Paul from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

A pleasant rum best served with a mixer, in my case, Fever Tree ginger beer. It is drinkable as a sipping rum, not being too fiery and a lot better than the supermarket favourites.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Decent bottle of rum. Semi smooth but with a bit of sour after notes. Better in cola, and surprisingly enough, gets better as the night wears on. Not something I reach for to impress someone, but fills the need in a pinch.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

Some buttery sweetness and mild vanilla tones are present but on its own this is just not something I'd enjoy straight-up, myself, but mixed with Sprite or 7-Up, and some OJ, pineapple juice or 5-Alive, and yup, I'm on-board. ( I wouldn't turn it away! )

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

One of my favorite brands. Nothing wrong with this one, but I like the older ones better as they have more taste

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Inoffensive is the immediate description that comes to mind.

Light/medium bodied with a caramel notes and a touch of sweetness. Accompanied by a nice bite of alcohol. Nothing particularly great about this one, but certainly nothing obviously wrong with it save for maybe a bit spirity and lacking in weight of fruit.

Overall quite smooth, helped by the sweetness that is ever present, despite the slight alcohol attack, which to me adds a bit of character. I had to check the alcohol content - it's 40% but drinks like a 37.5%.

Problem is though, that as an everyday rum, the cheaper Chairman's Reserve makes this look really very ordinary.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 56 ratings

The rum is strong and quite spiced. The aftertaste is prolonged. However there is nothing special about it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 41 ratings

Rough. It says bourbon barrel aged on my bottle, which is very believable cos this tastes more like bourbon than rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 44 ratings

There's really not much else to say that's positive. I suppose it's cheap.

Smells clinical. Tastes fairly rotten straight. Not fantastic with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Ok. Nothing to write home about. Ok for mixing but bog standard, middle of the road stuff