Posting your rating...
Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year rum

Rate Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

The color is dark, probably imparted by the Madeira casks. The nose hits you with coconut, plums, brown sugar, subtle overly ripe bananas, sweet tobacco and leather. Given a little time, it's extremely inviting. Apart from the Madeira ageing, this is also a slightly beefed up version of the original 12 year, weighing in at 46% vol. The taste is very full and devolps quickly with dark notes of leather, tobacco, roasted coconut, and slightly spicy pepper. There's an underlying and rounded sweetness underpinning the power perfectly. This is bloody good and pure old barbadian rum. Love it.

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 46% aged in madeira & bourbon casks. Unadultraded rum from what I am quickly realizing as the vanguard rum distillery Four Square form Barbados. If you see it get it without hesitation.
Fantastic limited barrel aged rum. An absolute no brainer buy.

Posted about 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The bump in proof really makes this shine. The sweetness (created without additives, just impressive use of barrels) is absolutely perfect. My favorite style of rum, if you can call it that, are these wine finished spirits that impart sweetness while not being sweet. Masterfully done.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

The color is lighter brown hue, the label claims no "artificial colors or additives", so if something "natural" like tannin infusion was used, I cannot say. I would not mind, since color adjustments is defacto standard practice of the industry, bar some independent bottlers.

The nose is intense and pleasant, especially after adding a splash of water (recommended, since it's a 46 ABV rum), harmonious notes of gingerbread, apricots, dried apples.

The palate is on the sweet side, more apricots, brown cake, brown sugar, some vanilla, with pronounced Madeira cask influence, tempered by tannin astringency from the oak, medium-bodied with lingering, pleasant, warm finish.

The main selling point is the perfect harmony of this rum, both on the nose and on the palate. Currently my favorite rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Stouby from Denmark with 16 ratings

Jonas introducerede mig for denne skønne flaske. Skøn farve, dejlig rund smag uden at være sød. Skøn sødme fra fadlagring. Foursquare destilleriet.

Posted 8 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

If you like REAL rums without sugar from Barbados it will perfectly fit you. Maybe BIT too expansive if you compare it with Doorly 12, Gay XO - but you won't regret it, it's a great handcrafted art of rum.

Posted 11 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

46% . Another fantastic Foursquare offering. I tried this along side the regular 12yr old and this came out the winner ! The Madeira input brings out a wonderful sweet taste in an otherwise dry rum. Same colour as the original , even pretty much the same nose , muted caramel and oak. But the taste , beautiful and gets better with each sip.. lovely dark fruit notes and a bit of spice and wood. Highly recommended.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Schönes sattes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sind die Holznoten sehr gewichtig, werden aber sehr elegant von Karamell und kandierten tropischen Früchten getragen.
Im Gaumen weich und angenehm warm, frisch gebranntes Karamell, frisch getoastetes Holz, frisch geschälte Früchte, frisch gemahlene Gewürze, um nur Einige zu nennen.
Im Abgang wunderbar lang, nach Holz und Karamell.
Ein super Barbados Rum für Liebhaber des "puren" Rums. Nichts für Süss-Rum Geniesser. 8+
Batch 2016

Beautiful rich amber in a glass.
In the nose the wood notes are very weighty, but are carried very elegantly by caramel and candied tropical fruits.
On the palate soft and pleasantly warm, freshly burnt caramel, freshly toasted wood, freshly peeled fruits, freshly ground spices, to name but a few.
In the finish wonderfully long, after wood and caramel.
A super Barbados rum for lovers of "pure" rum. Nothing for sweet rum connoisseurs. 8+
Batch 2016

Posted over 1 year ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

I have never tasted 12 yo rum like this... Amazing

Posted over 2 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Jeg var fornyelig til romsmagning med Mads Heitmann fra romhatten.
Dette var den tredje rom vi smagte.
En rom der for mig giver noter af karamel - kokos - ristede nødder.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had a very good rum tasting session with my buddy at one of the best rum bars in Chicago where I tasted the white label Real McCoy for the very first and absolutely the last time, and the white label Real McCoy 12 year old easily took the last spot on this tasting, and after well over 600 aged rums tasted during the past 15 years, is easily on my least favorite 10 rum list. This is very close to my all time lowest rum Barbancourt 8 and 15 year old rums. Awful vile liquid, stay away from this one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I had this side by side with the Real McCoy 12-Year and I think they're both very similar and very close. I slightly prefer the regular Real McCoy 12-Year.

I find that stronger rums are better if they're very highly rated to me, and this one is right on the borderline where the regular version is still just barely better to me.

Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, caramel, and spice. Smooth for 46%abv. Almost a tie with regular 12-Year, though again I slightly prefer that one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

A little more oak, with complex fruitiness from the madeira casks. A good amount of pot-still influence. Overall, a very nice rum, not sweet at all.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

This rum is produced in Barbados by Richard Seale, Foursquare Distillery. The space is the warehouse for a minimum of twelve years.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

God rom med en kompleks smag. Synes duften mangler lidt, og smagen også lige det sidste.

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

The addition of madeira cask-aged rum adds a little extra interest to the already exquisite RM12. A little more oak, with complex fruitiness from the madeira casks. A good amount of pot-still influence. At times I detect a bit of a cough-syrup flavor, but it's subtle enough to not interfere with the pleasure of sipping, which I will be doing on a regular basis.

9-

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

very light and pleasant aroma, light citrus and slight fruit.

warm in the mouth, softer when a little water is added.

Overall, a very nice rum, not sweet at all. A nice change from the majority of sweet rums available now.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Nose: water and alcohol. The madeira is very forward in this rum. The wood lingers in the finish.




#