Posting your rating...
Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year rum

Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.3/10 (22 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
7
4

Rate Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


22 Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

The color is dark, probably imparted by the Madeira casks. The nose hits you with coconut, plums, brown sugar, subtle overly ripe bananas, sweet tobacco and leather. Given a little time, it's extremely inviting. Apart from the Madeira ageing, this is also a slightly beefed up version of the original 12 year, weighing in at 46% vol. The taste is very full and devolps quickly with dark notes of leather, tobacco, roasted coconut, and slightly spicy pepper. There's an underlying and rounded sweetness underpinning the power perfectly. This is bloody good and pure old barbadian rum. Love it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 46% aged in madeira & bourbon casks. Unadultraded rum from what I am quickly realizing as the vanguard rum distillery Four Square form Barbados. If you see it get it without hesitation.
Fantastic limited barrel aged rum. An absolute no brainer buy.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 204 ratings

I have a problem with private branding of others products, even if it slightly changed. This is no FourSquare, just an over priced rum with an extra middle man and marketting company. Why not just buy the real deal from the guy who makes it. Don’t get me wrong it was a decent full body dark aged real rum with some character, but not an 8, 9, 10

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The bump in proof really makes this shine. The sweetness (created without additives, just impressive use of barrels) is absolutely perfect. My favorite style of rum, if you can call it that, are these wine finished spirits that impart sweetness while not being sweet. Masterfully done.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The color is lighter brown hue, the label claims no "artificial colors or additives", so if something "natural" like tannin infusion was used, I cannot say. I would not mind, since color adjustments is defacto standard practice of the industry, bar some independent bottlers.

The nose is intense and pleasant, especially after adding a splash of water (recommended, since it's a 46 ABV rum), harmonious notes of gingerbread, apricots, dried apples.

The palate is on the sweet side, more apricots, brown cake, brown sugar, some vanilla, with pronounced Madeira cask influence, tempered by tannin astringency from the oak, medium-bodied with lingering, pleasant, warm finish.

The main selling point is the perfect harmony of this rum, both on the nose and on the palate. Currently my favorite rum.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Price seems to be a common theme with my thoughts on Real McCoy rums. I buy from the importer of both (same company). This 12yo is 80% more expensive than Doorly's 12yo and 25% more expensive than the Doorly's 14yo. And to me that's just crazy - you're paying Foursquare's mark-up as well as Real McCoy's mark-up.

But the rum is good. Real good.

I love a wooded nose that carries through to the body and on to the finish. And this has it. Unlike the lesser McCoy's 12yo this has the acidity/spirit to it that carries the length. Maybe it's not as subtle nor delicate on the finish as the Doorly's 12yo (which to me has one of the better finishes you can find) but it is very appealing and long.

So then I thought, given that it's 25% more expensive than the Doorly's 14yo. why not try the 2 side by side - McCoy @ 46%, Doorly's 14yo @ 48%. Both fresh bottles.....and to me, here's the problem. The Doorly's 14yo, cheaper, richer, fuller, as sweet as the madeira aged McCoy. Better finish. Longer length. More sophisticated. Just better all round and cheaper.

Which leads to the question, why would you pay 25% more for McCoy 12yo madeira finish over Doorly's 14yo? The answer to that for the future, is I wouldn't. That's a great shame as the rums from McCoy are really good, but just badly priced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

This is simply amazing. Strong, beautiful nose, caramel, vanilla, some dried fruits and molasses.

Strong burn but smooth on the palate and tastes just like
It smells. There’s no disconnect between flavor and smell because there are no additives.

Limited edition, and one well worth having a few backups of.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 106 ratings

What i expected from a Foursquare rum. powerfull taste with no sugar added to it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Stouby from Denmark with 40 ratings

Jonas introducerede mig for denne skønne flaske. Skøn farve, dejlig rund smag uden at være sød. Skøn sødme fra fadlagring. Foursquare destilleriet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

If you like REAL rums without sugar from Barbados it will perfectly fit you. Maybe BIT too expansive if you compare it with Doorly 12, Gay XO - but you won't regret it, it's a great handcrafted art of rum.