Posting your rating...
Botran 18-Year rum

Rate Botran 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


49 Botran 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Had this at Manchester Rum Fest, and hugely enjoyed it which is why I was surprised to see so many average reviews on here.
I found it to have a sweet initial taste followed by a smokey body and a warming aftertaste. easy to drink and nice and light that I could drink multiple.
I might not have the most discerning palette but I know what I like, and I liked this

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Vacationing in Acapulco and tasting Botran Solera 1893 18y and Matusalem Gran Reserva 18y back-to-back. Botran has a pretty decent bottle design and high end sturdy box which reminds me of good quality single malt whisky boxes. Color is semi dark with oak intruding both nose and palate. Some burn at the end, but rather mild. This is the best rum Botran has to offer. Matusalem 5 - Botran 7.

Posted about 2 months ago by LeoTheFinn from Finland with 2 ratings

Paired yet again with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a very pleasant rum as well. Not quite there with the Bristol's Jamaican 8yo though, but close. The smokiness of burned Salazar, the saltiness of Davy Jones & the sweetness of Elizabeth. Then the aged rum breath of Jack & Gibbs, fruitiness of Cannibal Island & the exotic touch of monkey Jack. Ending with the smoothness of Will without the bitter kick of Barbossa. Aye to that I say! Cheers!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

This is gutemala rum, little dry taste little harder nose.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

ron bueno para mezclarse con coca cola, nada del otro mundo

Posted over 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 172 ratings

Vůně: po vanilce, ořískách, lehce alkoholová
Chuť: štiplavý nutné nechat nadechnout

Posted 4 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 4 ratings

me gusta su sabor profundo , pero lo sirvo 15 minutos antes y lo dejo respirar , su alcohol no es muy fuerte pero se siente, sabor intenso hasta el final, no deja regusto fuerte en el paladar ,color dorado suave, mejor con un hielo para mi gusto !!

Posted 4 months ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Linda botella (la nueva edición). Color caoba precioso.
Aroma intenso muy agradable, canela, vainilla, madera y tal vez higos.
En boca muy suave, seco y poco dulce. Algo de café, amargo, vainilla.
Es un ron que no es precisamente muy complejo, probablemente porque es solera, pero me gustó mucho!

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 5 months ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Decent bottle, nice light brown color, toffee aroma. Dry rum (obviously very low if added sugar) but very pleasant and smooth taste, hints of coffee and oak, long aftertaste. It is a must for lovers of dry rums, definitely one of my best sipping rums.

Posted 5 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

kidding, but i like this. it has the bite of a higher proof rum with the softer finish of the lower proof overly sweetened rums. has a nice long lingering finish like a good bourbon. i like the solera style and this is no exception. i will buy a bottle next time Im at my local.

Posted 5 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

De los mejores rones calidad/ precio. Por 25 dolares tienes un buen ron de 18 anos, que me saben a 15, pero con un muy buen sabor y cantidad ya que la mayoria son de 1 litro. Lo compraria para cualquier reunion.

Posted 6 months ago by Juan1978 from Colombia with 11 ratings

very good rum ... price ratio benefit very very good better than many more expensive ... never missing in my bar .. I love to take it on the rocks avences with a slice of orange or lemon

Posted 6 months ago by bjillett from Canada with 1 rating

I picked up a bottle of Botran18 rum from Guatemala in Lima on travels. Great colour mid dark and limited on notes/smell, a little kick to start and a softer finish, taste is quite good , It's a good rum age to limits but recommended to sip as one does brandy and limit ice. No strong alcohol taste.

Posted 6 months ago by Howard34 from United States with 1 rating

Great color and smell, smooth start but like others, I expected it to have a softer finish. Taste is quite good but I feel there is too much burn on the finish. Add just a splash of coke and it makes for a tasty drink. Good value if you can find it. I was able to pick up a bottle in Spain at the airport for 31 euro for a liter.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

...Is an ok rum, with a bit thin body, vinous flavour and the good news is, it isn't as sweetened as one might expect - only 5g/litre sugar added.

Posted 10 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

In noise: toffee, fruity
In mouth: dry, almost no sweetness
Aftertaste: Long burn and oaky

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Nice oak flavor when straight. Just a bit strong of an afterburn to lower it to a 6 from a 6.5

Posted about 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This rum starts out great from nose to mouth but the finish just falls short on flavor. I like the 12 year much more... good just not great.

Posted about 1 year ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Tasty rum but I would not expect this much burn for the price point. Still definitely sippable, though.

Posted about 1 year ago by 00lx3 from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

I am not able to drink this without Coke and lemon. Dry, flat, alcohol and water.

Posted about 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Vona velmi malo vyrazna, slabe naznaky melasy, vanilky... V chuti pomerne dost preraza alkohol, rum je skor suchsi, viac citit drevitost suda. Povedal by som, ze je to priemerny, nicim vynimocny rum, nezaujal ma velmi... Flasu by som si nekupil...

Posted over 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Alcool présent. Rhum sec avec une certaine rondeur. Note de caramel et d'épice.

Posted over 1 year ago by Natan from Israel with 15 ratings

For its price it is reasonable but I had to add ice and/or coke. Don’t have the balances needed to drink it as a brandy

Posted over 1 year ago by Lamenter from Finland with 1 rating

Disappointment. That's the first and last feeling about this. First you taste watery alcohol, then bit harsh biting. Finish has some fruit and warm, but with oaky note. Drinkable, not even near worth the price.