Posting your rating...
Botran 18-Year rum

Botran 18-Year

Guatemala | Aged

6.7/10
62 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
22
25
11
1

Rate Botran 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

62 Botran 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 50 ratings

kidding, but i like this. it has the bite of a higher proof rum with the softer finish of the lower proof overly sweetened rums. has a nice long lingering finish like a good bourbon. i like the solera style and this is no exception. i will buy a bottle next time Im at my local.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Vacationing in Acapulco and tasting Botran Solera 1893 18y and Matusalem Gran Reserva 18y back-to-back. Botran has a pretty decent bottle design and high end sturdy box which reminds me of good quality single malt whisky boxes. Color is semi dark with oak intruding both nose and palate. Some burn at the end, but rather mild. This is the best rum Botran has to offer. Matusalem 5 - Botran 7.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 10 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 103 ratings

Tonight, this is the game of two grandfathers (in the same price range stadium).
First goal scored by Botran: it is classic Solera. Good balance between dry and sweet. Charming spicyness.
Then there was massive attack of AN. 3:1 in 5 minutes.
Absolutely delicious, authentic. Naturally sweet, still fine smoky.
Both did not play fair on nose: two yellow cards for Botran, one for AN.
Both are worth the money and got into a playoff of the best drinks.

P.s. this is my first stuff (and staff) from Guatemala. Next team - Angostura.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by LeoTheFinn from Finland with 2 ratings

Paired yet again with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a very pleasant rum as well. Not quite there with the Bristol's Jamaican 8yo though, but close. The smokiness of burned Salazar, the saltiness of Davy Jones & the sweetness of Elizabeth. Then the aged rum breath of Jack & Gibbs, fruitiness of Cannibal Island & the exotic touch of monkey Jack. Ending with the smoothness of Will without the bitter kick of Barbossa. Aye to that I say! Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

This is gutemala rum, little dry taste little harder nose.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

ron bueno para mezclarse con coca cola, nada del otro mundo

Small img 5797

Posted over 4 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 192 ratings

Vůně: po vanilce, ořískách, lehce alkoholová
Chuť: štiplavý nutné nechat nadechnout

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by George from Canada with 31 ratings

Personally this rum I think is great. Definitely the age comes through and has a nice oaky hints of chocolate taste. In one sense it’s familiar to other rums and the other it’s completely unique.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Weis from Israel with 8 ratings

This rum definitely deserves your attention if you DON'T like artificially sweetened rums. Overall very balanced sipping rum. Would buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Tony from Canada with 23 ratings

I was quite surprised at the smooth character of this Guatamala rum. Though not as sweet and deep as others, it still goes down easy over a cube or 2. Will have to find it again as this bottle is almost done.

Small 49897d37 4ace 499e a67a 91d354ebedeb

Posted 2 months ago by Trotinete from Romania with 43 ratings

Im Geruch rauchig, Leder, Karamell, Farbe dunkler Bernstein.
Im Geschmack ein ganz wenig Süße am Anfang, dann schmeckt man die Reifung in Weinfässern und ein wenig herb. Im Abgang schmeckt man ein wenig Sherry.

Fazit: ich habe vor der Verkostung den B13 getrunken. Dieser Rum ist um einiges komplexer, nicht so rund wie der B13 und weniger süß, mit Ecken und Kanten, aber auch das gefällt.
Für mich ein absolut feiner Tropfen ! Keine Enttäuschung !