Posting your rating...
Botran 18-Year rum

Botran 18-Year

Guatemala | Aged

6.7/10(60 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
22
23
11
1

Rate Botran 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

60 Botran 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Alcool présent. Rhum sec avec une certaine rondeur. Note de caramel et d'épice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Sweet smell with a dry leathery taste. All and all; not bad, but lacking.
I knew the moment I first swirled it around and those thin legs presented themselve it might be a bit thin and unexciting.
Still not a bad rum to have in the collection.

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

The taste just vanish after you swallowed. Otherwise not bad, but doesn't stand out.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

If your a fan of zacapa you would enjoy this has a lot of flavours and good taste

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

Sweet nose of caramel and molasis. Very smooth easy to drink. I like this one straight up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by anaratz from France with 14 ratings

This was my second sipping rum purchase after Ron Centenario 20-Year.
This one was a disappointment by comparison to be honest.

The smell is nice, honey/traces of spice.
The coloring is light brown.
The liquid tastes thin and it lacks luster and doesn't coat the mouth.
Upon tasting, the distinctive caramel/honey flavour of rum is present, but is not distinct enough (for me) and it is quite harsh, with a strong alcohol after-taste.

Will try it over ice next, to see if that helps the harshness.

Won't be buying it again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Good tasty rum, really different than the 12Y Botran.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar 0-5 GPL
Slightly better than the 15 year old version but nothing spectacular. Vanilla, wood, honey, and some baking spices. The aroma has too much of alcohol for my liking, and the finish on this a bit harsh trending towards bitter. I think that they may have used too many barrels of a younger rum in the blend. There are some good flavours in the blend, but they fade too fast. Overall I would classify this a very good mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Rhum classique dans ses arômes de caramel, beurre, fruits confits, .... On pourrait en attendre plus...

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by MARTIN from Martinique with 68 ratings

Douceur du caramel et des épices. rhum plutôt agréable.
Peut se boire avec un dessert ou en association avec du chocolat.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Botran Solera 18yo starts off so well, but finishes so averagely.

A lovely nose with good fruit, oak and hints of banana, coffee and spices. A rich, warm, spicy body that finishes oh so disappointingly. Behind the nice soft burn of alcohol, there is a bitterness that I can't get my head around. It is a good rum all round save for this. Maybe I really should give it a 6½, but I suspect that this is one of those rums that if you catch it when you are in the right mood, it will be stunning, and on other days it will be disappointing.

I'm trying to like this, but coming back to drink it again I really just don't like the taste of it. The finish is horrid. I think that I might have to blend it away with something, but as I drink my rum straight up....!! Maybe a dash of OVD. As the Botran is quite dry, I am thinking to mate it with an overly sweet rum that I have ended up with to kill two birds with one stone.

There aren't many rums I dislike, but Botran is one of them. I gave the 1893 Solera a 2 thinking it might have been corked, but maybe it was just nasty.

EDIT (again). The bottle has been sitting in the back of the cupboard for months now, with me wondering what I was going to do with it. So I decided to try it. There is a softness and rich caramel notes on the palate that I didn't pick up before.The dryness is not there in such a domineering way. While I am still a little undecided, it is much more harmonious that previously had, and I am enjoying my glass. I might have caught it on a good night, so maybe I should try and knock off the rest of the bottle (its only half full!!!). ☺