Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.4/10
447 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
13
51
128
169
54
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

447 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

In de neus krijg ik plots een flashback naar een sherry-tasting in lang vervlogen tijd. Deze Nicaraguaan kan niet verstoppen dat hij liggen slapen heeft op eiken vaten. Het rokerig eikenhouten aroma ontdek je al meteen bij het inschenken waarna je ook een lichte geur van leer zal vaststellen.
Ook bij het proeven van deze mooie rood getinte rum komt het hout onmiddellijk terug. Alsook mijn flashback: kort, krachtig, vrij droog met een kruidige toets. Maar dit alles verdwijnt vrij snel en laat je achter met een droge mond die nog meer van dat wil.
Geen aanrader voor de zoetekauwen onder ons maar eerder de ideale rum om de notoire cognacdrinker in te wijden in de geneugten van onze geliefde Caraïbische distillaten.
Naar mijn mening de perfecte rum om van te genieten met een onbezoedeld smaakpallet (ja rond 11 uur in de voormiddag) met een perfecte aperitiefsigaar!

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Perro from Germany with 16 ratings

It is a little bit too strong for a 18 years one, nice in the nose but the alcohol taste is too big for me, not really smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Very sweet nose. Smooth flavour and a pleasant amount of alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Federicobz from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

I just tried FdC18 years and it is a really good rum, nice color, smell and well balanced. I had the chance to visit Flor de Caña factory and I came to know that all Flor de Caña rums are aged the amount of years marked in the bottle and that they grow and process it's own sugar cane which enhance the quality of the production process. I am giving them a 10 because is the only rum that I have tried that not use the solera process, so I do not consider it fair to compare rums with different aging process.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Slet ikke tosset.
God og behagelig eftersmag.
Så meget bedre end 12 års.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I sampled this rum neat, and while I took my time to enjoy it, there was less there than I'd hoped. It is indeed very smooth, as you'd expect from a rug with this much aging. But I sensed mostly sugar-y aromas in the nose, and similarly on the palette. I'd hoped for more flavor components. It's got a nice smooth finish, too, if a bit too hot for a rum this age. Overall, though, not up there with my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Simon king from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Deeply tasty and nice rum. Molasses and smooth with a bite at the end.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

A return to sweeter side after the 12 year, I really enjoyed this fine rum. Smooth, flavorful, and well made.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This one seems to polarize oppinions. To me it is actually quite good, though a bit dry. I prefer my rum to be a bit sweeter than this one. Though I don't agree with those who think that the 12 years version is better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

This is an excellent rum for the price range. Too good and too expensive to waste as a mixer, but not so expensive that I couldn't share. This is my go-to for an affordable sipping rum (straight or on the rocks), and my go-to suggestion for people wanting to break in to sipping rums.

Small profile 1

Posted 7 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Quite a winner. Medium spice with oak. Slightly sweet. Good amount of oil lasts in the long finish. Could envision seasoned rum veterans really liking this one.