Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.4/10 (423 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
10
48
119
164
50
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


423 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by rumdrinker99 from United States with 7 ratings

I used to be a scotch drinker and after trying this I am a 18 year Flor De Cana drinker. Best tasting aged spirit I have ever tried.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 11 ratings

The smell is mainly vanilla. Taste is quite smooth, little bit spicy, considably dry and balanced. There is nothing that is too predominant in it. Nice present afterburn that leaves you with a nice aftertaste and a longing for the next sip. Not top of the line, but really enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted at TikiCat 4 months ago by NinjaHippo from United States with 18 ratings

Smooth but not interesting enough to keep on my permanent shelf. Rated 7/10 for the full price ~$50 but recently grabbed a bottle on sale ~$38 during quarantine. I would bump rating to 8/10 at that price point.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I did a “vertical” tasting of the 4, 7, 12 & 18 simultaneously w/one of my sons. The results were exactly predictable and guided by the price points. It’s not unusual to have a lower aged rum best it’s elder “brother” but not here. The 4 & 7 are good for Cuba Libre’s while the 12 & 18 older brothers are better for sipping. Bottom line is that when I see the distillery promoting “ sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade“ rather than the layers of flavors you know you’re not in the +8 range.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Guy from Canada with 9 ratings

After paying the price I was expecting more. I did not enjoy as much as diplomatica reserva, which is a fair bit less expensive... but I do have a bit of a sweeter taste pallet.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Florin from Romania with 27 ratings

Fin. prezentarea e superba , atat desenul de pe cutie cat si sticla arata intr un mare fel, iar sticla e grea, si se simte premium. Iar sunetul dopului la momentul deschiderii e minunat ) ;dar sa trecem la ce conteaza cu adevarat :

Mirosul ma duce cu gandul la nucile care cad din pom si inca mai au nervuri fine verzulii pe coaja, ceva zahar ars , deasemenea se simte si taria .

Gustul e clar de nuca, asta ar fi gustul predominant, se simte inclusiv acea senzatie amaruie pe care o lasa si nuca in postgust . e o senzatie interesanta. Alcoolul isi face prezenta si se simte arsura imediat dupa gust, nu i puternica incalzeste putin inclusiv pe gat, e placuta . e usor uleios parca , o dulceata difuza impreuna cu aroma de zahar ars . Un rom sec, nu pare a avea zahar adaugat , in afara de aroma de nuca restul sunt difuze , nimic strident . am vorbit de nuca, nu cred ca mai e necesar sa amintesc de aroma usor lemnoasa )

Un rom fin fara indoiala, isi merita locul in orice colectie .

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

A deeper colour similar to the 25 year but a nose more like the 12 year. This must be a column still rum with a light taste which doesn't excite me. A bit boozy but still smooth enough for sipping. Not my type of rum for $65 at LCBO.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by George from Canada with 26 ratings

Smooth finish and long nose. Nice aroma, and well balanced

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Ron Flor de Caña 18 Centenario Legacy Edition I

Very excited to hear the cork pop on this one!
Quick review-
Beautiful color.
On the nose: molasses, tropical fruit, maple and alcohol
First sip: wow! Super smooth right out of the bottle on the tongue. I get cherry, maple, dried fruit and oak.
Long smooth burn after the finish with the flavors never quitting on you.
Not the most complex sipper of all time but that doesn't stop me from loving everything about this dram. Wow is this stuff good!

Na zdrowie! 🥃🥃✌

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Lekker zacht, niet te diep van smaak en drinkt lekker weg

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Opened up real well with sweet floral nectar, honey and vanilla coming thru, from an active good bourbon cask may be? Dusty wood, sweet spices, dried nutmeg and cinnamon. Developed to more boiled sweet herbs and earthy roots. (22/25)

P- Sauteed ripe banana with butter and caramel, jammy with pinch of citrus salts to balanced things up. Evolving honey-ed liquorice, dried pineapple, sweet pear, cherry and wood smokes. Still a 40-er, soft on palate with rich characters. (23/25)

F- Medium, subtle spices, more pink peppercorn. Well restrained sweetness with rounded mineral notes. (21/25)

Balanced:- A reasonably well 40er compromise on the overall strength. A skillful boxer but lacking the muscle to deliver the killing punch. (20/25)

Weighted Rate:- 86pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.