Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.4/10
447 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
13
51
128
169
54
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

447 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

In de neus krijg ik plots een flashback naar een sherry-tasting in lang vervlogen tijd. Deze Nicaraguaan kan niet verstoppen dat hij liggen slapen heeft op eiken vaten. Het rokerig eikenhouten aroma ontdek je al meteen bij het inschenken waarna je ook een lichte geur van leer zal vaststellen.
Ook bij het proeven van deze mooie rood getinte rum komt het hout onmiddellijk terug. Alsook mijn flashback: kort, krachtig, vrij droog met een kruidige toets. Maar dit alles verdwijnt vrij snel en laat je achter met een droge mond die nog meer van dat wil.
Geen aanrader voor de zoetekauwen onder ons maar eerder de ideale rum om de notoire cognacdrinker in te wijden in de geneugten van onze geliefde Caraïbische distillaten.
Naar mijn mening de perfecte rum om van te genieten met een onbezoedeld smaakpallet (ja rond 11 uur in de voormiddag) met een perfecte aperitiefsigaar!

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 28 ratings

Smooth and flavorful. Nice aroma up front, nice backend taste, and smooth going down. Definitely a nice sipper to end the night

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

The smell is mainly vanilla. Taste is quite smooth, little bit spicy, considably dry and balanced. There is nothing that is too predominant in it. Nice present afterburn that leaves you with a nice aftertaste and a longing for the next sip. Not top of the line, but really enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted at TikiCat 8 months ago by NinjaHippo from United States with 18 ratings

Smooth but not interesting enough to keep on my permanent shelf. Rated 7/10 for the full price ~$50 but recently grabbed a bottle on sale ~$38 during quarantine. I would bump rating to 8/10 at that price point.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I did a “vertical” tasting of the 4, 7, 12 & 18 simultaneously w/one of my sons. The results were exactly predictable and guided by the price points. It’s not unusual to have a lower aged rum best it’s elder “brother” but not here. The 4 & 7 are good for Cuba Libre’s while the 12 & 18 older brothers are better for sipping. Bottom line is that when I see the distillery promoting “ sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade“ rather than the layers of flavors you know you’re not in the +8 range.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Guy from Canada with 9 ratings

After paying the price I was expecting more. I did not enjoy as much as diplomatica reserva, which is a fair bit less expensive... but I do have a bit of a sweeter taste pallet.

Small img 20210110 180302

Posted 9 months ago by Florin from Romania with 33 ratings

Fin. prezentarea e superba , atat desenul de pe cutie cat si sticla arata intr un mare fel, iar sticla e grea, si se simte premium. Iar sunetul dopului la momentul deschiderii e minunat ) ;dar sa trecem la ce conteaza cu adevarat :

Mirosul ma duce cu gandul la nucile care cad din pom si inca mai au nervuri fine verzulii pe coaja, ceva zahar ars , deasemenea se simte si taria .

Gustul e clar de nuca, asta ar fi gustul predominant, se simte inclusiv acea senzatie amaruie pe care o lasa si nuca in postgust . e o senzatie interesanta. Alcoolul isi face prezenta si se simte arsura imediat dupa gust, nu i puternica incalzeste putin inclusiv pe gat, e placuta . e usor uleios parca , o dulceata difuza impreuna cu aroma de zahar ars . Un rom sec, nu pare a avea zahar adaugat , in afara de aroma de nuca restul sunt difuze , nimic strident . am vorbit de nuca, nu cred ca mai e necesar sa amintesc de aroma usor lemnoasa )

Un rom fin fara indoiala, isi merita locul in orice colectie .

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 324 ratings

Tried this one on a Business flight.
Flor de Cana rums are produced on a multi column set up and then aged in ex bourbon casks.
Like all Flor de Cana rums it has a woody profile. The taste is quite old because of this strong oak.
You know such rums already, for example Mount Gay or Barcelo rums.
It was server too cold, thats why I got some more bitter notes in the taste.

There are no surprises, this rum is solid, it doesn't want to shine. I can imagine to drink that when I'm 90 years old. You can imagine an old house with an old, dark, woody furniture from another decade. An old wrinkled man is sitting there with a cigar and a bottle of this rum. He needs no surprices, he saw everything and what he wants is this old woody taste, that reminds him of his own long life.
This is what this rum is, not a fancy sipper, just a solid woody rum.

Smell: strong oak, caramel, some fruits like orange, tobacco, vanilla
Taste: caramel, burned suggar, oak, fruits, spice, bitterness (because it was served too cold).
Finish: spicy, strong woody finish

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (48€): 3/5
Experience level: amateur - professional

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Don from Canada with 151 ratings

A deeper colour similar to the 25 year but a nose more like the 12 year. This must be a column still rum with a light taste which doesn't excite me. A bit boozy but still smooth enough for sipping. Not my type of rum for $65 at LCBO.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by George from Canada with 31 ratings

Smooth finish and long nose. Nice aroma, and well balanced

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Ron Flor de Caña 18 Centenario Legacy Edition I

Very excited to hear the cork pop on this one!
Quick review-
Beautiful color.
On the nose: molasses, tropical fruit, maple and alcohol
First sip: wow! Super smooth right out of the bottle on the tongue. I get cherry, maple, dried fruit and oak.
Long smooth burn after the finish with the flavors never quitting on you.
Not the most complex sipper of all time but that doesn't stop me from loving everything about this dram. Wow is this stuff good!

Na zdrowie! 🥃🥃✌