Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.4/10
447 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
13
51
128
169
54
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

447 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

In de neus krijg ik plots een flashback naar een sherry-tasting in lang vervlogen tijd. Deze Nicaraguaan kan niet verstoppen dat hij liggen slapen heeft op eiken vaten. Het rokerig eikenhouten aroma ontdek je al meteen bij het inschenken waarna je ook een lichte geur van leer zal vaststellen.
Ook bij het proeven van deze mooie rood getinte rum komt het hout onmiddellijk terug. Alsook mijn flashback: kort, krachtig, vrij droog met een kruidige toets. Maar dit alles verdwijnt vrij snel en laat je achter met een droge mond die nog meer van dat wil.
Geen aanrader voor de zoetekauwen onder ons maar eerder de ideale rum om de notoire cognacdrinker in te wijden in de geneugten van onze geliefde Caraïbische distillaten.
Naar mijn mening de perfecte rum om van te genieten met een onbezoedeld smaakpallet (ja rond 11 uur in de voormiddag) met een perfecte aperitiefsigaar!

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

I tried in Nicaragua all of Flor de Canas. If you want to compare 7, 12 and 18 YO you can see difference with colour and nose. But taste...that's for me surprise...sooo little difference even between 7 and 18?
I don't know what thet do wrong....but something goes wrong there. Noth worth to pay that price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr. O from United States with 7 ratings

An okay sipping rum as long as you let it breathe. Not the best flavor at first but decent vanilla, oak and toffee flavors aftertaste and finish. Not recommended for beginners or people that like sweeter rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

I love this Rum, smooth yet spicy, sweet on the palat, lingering burn in the finish!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 122 ratings

Nice chocolate smell without alcohol sharpness. Taste is more powerful to tongue.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Morwin from United States with 14 ratings

This was a gift and one I very much appreciated it to the last drop, as others have stated it's best to let this one breathe before sipping to let the flavors come out.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

That version 18 is complex but is still accessible. Caramel notes, butterscotch , honey and toast. The oak is present but does not take over the pastry notes and orange zest. Very round and smooth with hints of vanilla on the end with the oak that still does not leave us. Very nice job

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

The bottle is no longer the same but the rum still at its excellent
A complex dry flavors and a very interesting length.
A true 18 years of age , no solera and it shows, highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 101 ratings

Aromatic nose with l vapor of alcohol. Mouth is smooth. Tail is progressively strong and flavourful.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Tried this on the recommendation of drier rums. Pretty good. A slight sweetness with what seems to be hints of orange zest (I think). It does have an oak wood flavor to it but not overwhelming. Definitely will make a fine sipping rum for some. Not for me, however. I like it with my Coke Zero. However it's an overall excellent rum. A must have for a well rounded rum cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

La bouteille n est plus la même mais le rhum lui est toujours aussi somptueux!
Un nez complexe, une mise en bouche où une multitude d arômes explosent (vanille, bois, fleurs...) et une longueur très intéressante.
Un vrai 18 ans d'âge, pas de solera et franchement ça se sent !
A recommander vivement, une de mes plus belles trouvailles